John Carroll students share their experiences with trips and semesters abroad

Sophia Maltese
The Carroll News
Published in
2 min readOct 5, 2018

by Josie Schuman

With the Oct. 1 deadline behind them, the Global Education staff is working diligently to facilitate students’ study abroad experiences. John Carroll has placed hundreds of students in schools all around the globe. This upcoming spring, students will be studying in countries across six continents and immersing themselves in the different cultures there.

Maura Wallace, a junior currently studying in Italy through the JCU in Rome program, described her immersive experience: “I have enjoyed studying abroad, because it has given me the opportunity to see the world from a different perspective. I have participated in the Immersion program at JCU, and this experience really reminded me of my time in Ecuador because we got to meet the locals, spend time with them and really immerse ourselves in their culture.”

A past participant of the JCU in Rome program, senior GG Caroniti reflected a similar sentiment. Caroniti explained, “Studying abroad in Italy opened my eyes to the abundant world surrounding us that is full of rich culture, crazy adventures and kind people. My experience allowed me to immerse myself in service, take risks and step out of my comfort zone.” However, Caroniti also highlighted the challenges of being the outsider in an unfamiliar place. “Many of the natives there treated me like an American. Every time I would speak to them in Italian, they recognized I had an American accent…and spoke to me in English rather than responding in Italian,” Caroniti said.

Marielle St. Amand, a senior who also studied in Italy, discussed the difficulties of the language barrier. “While it’s awesome to be immersed in other cultures,” St. Amand states, “it is really difficult with a language barrier.”

On the other hand, sophomore Cassie Harper, who is studying in Spain next semester, is excited to tackle the language barrier. Harper explained, “Studying abroad has always been a goal of mine because I am a Spanish major. I am motivated by the opportunity to engage with a new culture and the benefits this would have on my language.”

While it’s not an experience for everyone, studying abroad has had an undoubtedly profound impact on the John Carroll community. Reflecting on this life-changing experience, Caroniti concluded, “I can say I am proud of who I am today because of my experience.”

Applications for study abroad programs in the summer and spring of 2019 are due April 1. Contact Melanie Hahn at mhahn@jcu.edu with any questions.

--

--