Ears to the Ground: Kenny’s Spooktacular Home Office Playlist

Anne M Smith
The Carrot and the Corner Office
3 min readSep 20, 2024

Greetings, my boo-tiful melody lovers! It’s your favorite furry DJ, Boss Bunny Kenny, here with a special Halloween edition of our weekly playlist. My human has gone full Jack Skellington on our home office, and I’m caught between fascination and mild terror. At least they didn’t go Michael Myers on the place — this bunny appreciates keeping all his ears intact! So, let’s hop into some spine-tingling tunes to match our new spooky surroundings!

1. “Thriller” by Michael Jackson

Kicking off with a classic! My human’s been practicing the zombie dance while on conference calls. Let’s just say it’s a good thing most meetings are audio-only. The skeleton hanging by the desk keeps better rhythm.

2. “Halloween Theme” by John Carpenter

Nothing says “I’m totally focused on this spreadsheet” like the ominous piano tinkle of this classic horror theme. My human’s started doing dramatic head turns during video calls. I’m considering an intervention.

3. “Psycho Killer” by Talking Heads

This post-punk hit perfectly captures the vibe of our office when my human gets that maniacal gleam in their eye after too much coffee. The twitchy, nervous energy pairs well with the jittery fake spiders scattered across the desk.

4. “Werewolf” by Motionless In White

I caught my human swaying to this one while adjusting the full moon lamp above the desk. The haunting synths are making the fake cobwebs dance in an otherworldly breeze. I’m not saying they’re actually a werewolf, but I’ve hidden the silver paperclips just in case. The howl at the end of the track made me jump so high, I nearly got caught in the puppet cobwebs dangling from the ceiling!

5. “Don’t Fear The Reaper” by Blue Oyster Cult

This classic rock tune complements the grim reaper figure looming in the corner of the office. Every time that cowbell hits, the motion-activated skeleton starts dancing. More cowbell, more productivity… right?

6. “Superstition” by Stevie Wonder

My human’s been avoiding walking under the little ladder they set up as decor, all while grooving to this funky classic. I’ve never seen someone sidestep office supplies with such rhythm.

7. “Red Right Hand” by Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds

This moody track really sets the tone for those late-night work sessions. My human’s taken to dramatically gesturing with a red-gloved hand while on mute during meetings. Very professional.

8. “Funeral Derangements” by Ice Nine Kills

Nothing says “I’m totally sane and fit for work” like blasting metalcore inspired by Pet Sematary. The neighbors probably think we’re running a very energetic mortuary.

9. Jaws Theme by John Williams

My human’s set this as their email notification sound. Watching them tense up every time they hear those two notes is better than any horror movie. Who knew inbox management could be so thrilling?

10. “Enter Sandman” by Metallica

Perfect for those moments when my human needs to feel like a badass while entering data. I’ve caught them air guitaring with a ruler more times than I can count.

11. “Ghostbusters” by Ray Parker Jr.

Who you gonna call when your human turns the home office into a haunted house? Not me, I’m just a bunny! But this upbeat track makes sorting emails feel like a supernatural adventure.

12. “Monster Mash” by Bobby “Boris” Pickett

A novelty song for a novelty office! It pairs well with the motion-activated skeleton that does the mash every time we hop by. Productivity has taken a hit, but our dance moves have improved dramatically.

13. “This Is Halloween” by Danny Elfman

The perfect anthem for my Halloween-obsessed human! They’ve been humming this while stringing up jack-o’-lantern lights around the monitor. Our video calls now have a nice orange glow that screams “professional, but make it spooky.”

Remember, my spooky little seedlings, embracing the Halloween spirit at your home office can turn work into a real treat! Just maybe ease up on the fake cobwebs — this bunny’s gotten tangled one too many times.

Stay groovy and keep those ears perked (but watch out for bats!), Your haunting harmonizer, Boss Bunny Kenny 🐰🎃

P.S. If you hear mysterious noises during your next video call, don’t panic! It’s probably just my human testing out their new “haunted house sound effects” playlist. Probably.

--

--

Anne M Smith
The Carrot and the Corner Office

Hopping into careers with practical wisdom and a sprinkle of hare-larious advice.