Perfectionism and Addiction: How to Connect to the Love We Crave

In our patriarchal culture, we need femininity more than ever.

Alice Crady
The Cassandra

--

Photo credit: Michelle (Fisher) Bulla — Model: Allison Crady

Do you ever eat too many cookies, sometimes without really tasting them? Too much alcohol? TV? Work? Sex? Drugs? Food? You are not alone. Our bodies are incredibly wise, and these compulsions reflect an imbalance.

We need more divine feminine energy, yet our patriarchal culture has demeaned and dismissed femininity. As a result, our country has become incredibly depressed, anxious, lonely, and addicted.

We are actually craving rest, acceptance, connection, empathy, unconditional love, play, and compassion.

Why am I acting in ways that hurt me? I have had a life-long struggle with perfectionism, dabbling in many addictions. It feels scary and confusing.

I want to describe the struggle that I have identified in myself and my environment and some ways to cultivate balance.

This post has been influenced and inspired by “Addiction to Perfection,” by Marion Woodman, “Circle of Stones: Woman’s Journey to Herself,” by Judith Duerk, and my Jungian therapist.

The Problem

  1. Shaming Feminine Energy
  2. Missing Divine Mothers

--

--

Alice Crady
The Cassandra

🦋 I help friends increase holistic wellness through resources, stories, and insights. ❤️🕯 #Mental Health #Women #Relationships #Money #Self