Found

a poem and a prayer

Photo by Cristian Palmer on Unsplash

Why do I often forget
how much you love me so?

Why is my memory so weak
that I often speak
about fears…
doubting that
you revealed yourself to me?

Is it because I think myself unworthy
that I go on thinking
that I must have been pretending?
Is it because I was afraid
of loving you too much,
much more than I could bear?

But my life is meaningless and empty,
and I walk about lost in the dark.
Without the light of You,
I fall.
There is no purpose
for me at all.

Do rescue me and remind me.
Keep me always before You,
that I may have hope,
that I may remember.

You are my all,
And you are everything
I have…
Pull me out of the waters
for I drown,

Breathe Your life unto me,
and tell me once more,
that I have been found.

“Save me, God,
for the waters have reached my neck.
I have sunk into the mire of the deep,
where there is no foothold.
I have gone down to the watery depths;
the flood overwhelms me.
I am weary with crying out;
my throat is parched.
My eyes fail,
from looking for my God.”
Psalm 69:2–4 (NABRE)

--

--