Prayers for Healing of the Sick

A collection of Catholic prayers for family, friends and others who need help

Jocelyn Soriano
I AM Catholic
11 min readApr 8, 2022

--

Prayer for Healing for those who are sick, The Divine Mercy Chaplet
Image by D Casp from Pixabay

Have you ever wanted to find Catholic prayers for family, friends and loved ones who are sick? Below are some of prayer of healing including prayers to saints and those who are patrons of those suffering from various kinds of illness and afflictions.

“Is anyone among you sick? He should summon the presbyters of the church, and they should pray over him and anoint [him] with oil in the name of the Lord, and the prayer of faith will save the sick person, and the Lord will raise him up. If he has committed any sins, he will be forgiven.” — James 5:14–15, NABRE

Prayer of a Sick Man

By Jocelyn Soriano

My Lord, I’ve been bed-ridden for so long that I could hardly remember the time I’ve been well enough to take a simple walk out of my garden. I’ve been suffering night and day and the pangs of pain seem to get stronger with the passing of each day. I am losing hope of ever getting any better, of being well again.

And my pain only doubles up whenever I see the suffering of my own family. I know how much they miss the person I used to be. I know the troubles they go through to put up happy faces in front of me while hiding away their own pain. They don’t want me to worry so they say that everything’s fine. But I know that things are not so fine anymore. Surely by now the house is already mortgaged and the kids are working triple time just so they can pay the loan. Surely by now prospects of a new business project is dim and my wife is pulling herself two ways — attending to me and worrying about our financial distress. I should be the man of the house.

I should be the one taking care of my family. But here am I lying in bed, waiting for my hour when I shall shatter their hearts again just so I can escape from pain. Forgive me God for my waning courage. Forgive me for giving up hope at the time it is needed most.

I come before you almighty Healer. If my time has truly come, let it be so. But I will not give up without a fight. I trust in your goodness and unfailing love. I trust that the miracles you did you still do today and if only you will will it, you can heal me. You can save me and my loved ones from these dark days that have sapped all our laughter and our hope. Touch me O God with your healing power, forgive me of my sins and let me arise from this bed, whole and willing to serve you strongly once again! Amen.

Healing Prayer

by Saint Padre Pio

Heavenly Father, I thank You for loving me. I thank You for sending Your Son, our Lord Jesus Christ, to the world to save and to set me free. I trust in Your power and grace that sustain and restore me.

Loving Father, touch me now with Your healing hands, for I believe that Your will is for me to be well in mind, body, soul and spirit. Cover me with the Most Precious Blood of Your Son, our Lord Jesus Christ, from the top of my head to the soles of my feet.

Cast anything that should not be in me. Root out any unhealthy and abnormal cells. Open any blocked arteries or veins and rebuild and replenish any damaged areas. Remove all inflammation and cleanse any infection by the power of Jesus’ Precious Blood.

Let the fire of Your healing love pass through my entire body to heal and make new any diseased areas so that my body will function the way You created it to function.

Touch also my mind and my emotion, even the deepest recesses of my heart. Saturate my entire being with Your presence, love, joy, and peace and draw me ever closer to You every moment of my life.

And Father, fill me with Your Holy Spirit and empower me to do Your works so that my life will bring glory and honor to Your Holy Name. I ask this in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ. Amen.

Prayer to St. Roch (Patron of the Sick)

O most merciful God
Who through an angel promised St. Roch
That whoever should invoke his name
Would be preserved from pestilence
And contagious diseases.
Grant that through his intercession we
May be preserved from all dangers,
Both of soul and body
Through Christ our Lord.

Amen.

Novena

O Blessed St Roch, Patron of the sick, have pity on those who lie upon a bed of suffering.

Your power was so great when you were in this world, that by the sign of the Cross, many were healed of their diseases.

Now that you are in heaven, your power is no less. Offer to God our sighs and tears and obtain for us the physical and spiritual health we seek:

(Share your request…)

This we ask through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

St Roch: Pray for us, that we may be relieved from all diseases of body and soul. (Repeat 3 times)

Lord Jesus, may thy will be done.

Say: Our Father… Hail Mary… Glory be…

St Roch, Pray for Us …

Prayers to St. Peregrine

Patron saint for persons suffering from cancer, AIDS, and other life-threatening illnesses

Prayer for Self

St. Peregrine, whom Holy Mother Church has declared Patron of those suffering from Cancer, I confidently turn to you for help in my present sickness. I beg your kind intercession. Ask God to relieve me of this sickness, if it be his Holy Will. Plead with the Blessed Virgin Mary, the Mother of Sorrows, whom you loved so tenderly and in union with whom you have suffered the pains of Cancer, that she may help me with her powerful prayers and loving consolation.

But if it should be God’s Holy Will that I bear this sickness, obtain for me courage and strength to accept these trials from the loving hand of God with patience and resignation, because he knows what is best for the salvation of my soul. St. Peregrine, be my friend and patron. Help me to imitate you in accepting suffering, and to unite myself with Jesus Crucified and the Mother of Sorrows, as you did. I offer my pains to God with all the love of my heart, for his glory and the salvation of souls, especially my own. Amen.

Prayer for Others Who Are Sick

O great St. Peregrine, you have been called “The Mighty,” “The Wonder-Worker,” because of the numerous miracles which you have obtained from God for those who have had recourse to you. For so many years you bore in your own flesh this cancerous disease that destroys the very fiber of our being, and who had recourse to the source of all grace when the power of man could do no more. You were favored with the vision of Jesus coming down from His Cross to heal your affliction. Ask of God and Our Lady, the cure of the sick whom we entrust to you. (Pause here and silently recall the names of the sick for whom you are praying) Aided in this way by your powerful intercession, we shall sing to God, now and for all eternity, a song of gratitude for His great goodness and mercy. Amen.

Prayer to St. Raphael, The Archangel

Glorious Archangel St. Raphael, great prince of the heavenly court, you are illustrious for your gifts of wisdom and grace. You are a guide of those who journey by land or sea or air, consoler of the afflicted, and refuge of sinners. I beg you, assist me in all my needs and in all the sufferings of this life, as once you helped the young Tobias on his travels. Because you are the “medicine of God” I humbly pray you to heal the many infirmities of my soul and the ills that afflict my body. I especially ask of you the favor (here mention your special intention), and the great grace of purity to prepare me to be the temple of the Holy Spirit. Amen.

Prayer to St. Therese of Lisieux

My Novena Rose Prayer

O Little Therese of the Child Jesus, please pick for me a rose
from the heavenly gardens and send it to me as a message of love.

O Little Flower of Jesus, ask God to grant the favors
I now place with confidence in your hands . .

(mention in silence here)

St. Therese, help me to always believe as you did in God’s great love for me, so that I might imitate your “Little Way” each day.

Amen

Miraculous Invocation to St. Therese

O Glorious St. Therese,
whom Almighty God has raised up to aid
and inspire the human family,
I implore your Miraculous Intercession.

You are so powerful in obtaining every need
of body and spirit from the Heart of God.
Holy Mother Church proclaims you “Prodigy of Miracles…
the greatest saint of Modern Times.”

Now I fervently beseech you to answer my petition
(mention in silence here)
and to carry out your promises of
spending heaven doing good on earth…
of letting fall from Heaven a Shower of Roses.

Little Flower, give me your childlike faith,
to see the Face of God
in the people and experiences of my life,
and to love God with full confidence.

St. Therese, my Carmelite Sister,
I will fulfill your plea “to be made known everywhere”
and I will continue to lead others to Jesus through you.

Amen.

Prayer to St. Dymphna

Patron saint of those who suffer from mental illness

Good Saint Dymphna, great wonder-worker in every affliction of mind and body, I humbly implore your powerful intercession with Jesus through Mary, the Health of the Sick, in my present need. (Mention it.) Saint Dymphna, martyr of purity, patroness of those who suffer with nervous and mental afflictions, beloved child of Jesus and Mary, pray to Them for me and obtain my request.

(Pray one Our Father, one Hail Mary and one Glory Be.)

Saint Dymphna, Virgin and Martyr, pray for us.

OUR LADY OF PERPETUAL HELP

(In Sickness)

Mother of perpetual Help,
you know how much I suffer because of my sickness.
Not only my body but my soul is also affected.
I do not even have the strength to pray as I should.
Nothing gives me any relief.
Even the visits and compassion of my friends bring me no comfort.
My courage is beginning to fail;
impatience and sadness are having their effect on me.
Most tender and loving Mother,
in my feelings of distress,
I put all my trust in you.
Your compassionate heart will surely have pity on me.
Merciful Mother,
do not forget your devoted, afflicted child’s

[Mention your intention(s) here…]

Ask your Son, Jesus,
to give me the courage and strength
to accept my sickness as the will of God
and to bear it with patience and resignation.
If it is God’s will,
intercede for me in recovering my former good health;
but if it is God’s will that I continue to suffer, or,
that this sickness should lead me to a better life,
I am perfectly resigned.
Loving Mother,
I am confident you will obtain the grace
to do whatever God asks of me.

Amen.

Consecration of the Sick to Mary

PRAYER OF POPE PIUS XII

O kind and good Mother,
whose own soul was pierced by the sword of sorrow,
look upon us while,
in our sickness,
we arraign ourselves beside you
on the Calvary where your Jesus hangs.
Dowered with the high grace of suffering,
and hopeful of fulfilling in our own flesh
what is wanting in our sharing of Christ’s passion,
on behalf of his Mystical Body, the Church,
we consecrate to you ourselves and our pain.
We pray that you will place them
on that Altar of the Cross to which Jesus is affixed.
May they be little victims of propitiation for our salvation,
for the salvation of all peoples.
O Mother of Sorrows,
accept this consecration.
Strengthen our hopeful hearts,
that as partakers of Christ’s sufferings
we may also share in his comfort now and for evermore.

Amen.

THE MEMORARE

Remember, O most gracious Virgin Mary, that never was it known that anyone who fled to thy protection, implored thy help, or sought thine intercession was left unaided.

Inspired by this confidence, I fly unto thee, O Virgin of virgins, my mother, to thee do I come, before thee I stand, sinful and sorrowful. O Mother of the Word Incarnate, despise not my petitions, but in thy mercy hear and answer me.

Amen.

Mary Our Strength

PRAYER OF POPE PIUS XII

O Virgin, fair as the moon,
delight of the angels and saints in heaven,
grant that we may become like you
and that our souls may receive a ray of your beauty,
which does not decline with the years
but shines forth into eternity.

O Mary, sun of heaven,
restore life where there is death
and enlighten spirits where there is darkness.
Turn your countenance to your children
and radiate on us your light and your fervor.

O Mary, powerful as an army,
grant victory to our ranks.
We are very weak
and our enemy rages with uttermost conceit.
But under your banner
we are confident of overcoming him.

Save us, O Mary,
fair as the moon,
bright as the sun,
awe inspiring as an army set in battle array
and sustained not by hatred
but by the ardor of love.

Amen.

The Divine Mercy Chaplet

Using ordinary rosary beads

Our Father

Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be Thy name; Thy kingdom come; Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread, and forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us; and lead us not into temptation but deliver us from evil. Amen.

Hail Mary

Hail Mary, full of grace. The Lord is with you. Blessed are you among women, and blessed is the fruit of your womb, Jesus. Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners, now and at the hour of our death. Amen.

The Apostle’s Creed

I believe in God, the Father almighty, creator of heaven and earth. I believe in Jesus Christ, His only Son, Our Lord. He was conceived by the power of the Holy Spirit, and born of the Virgin Mary. He suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died, and was buried. He descended to the dead. On the third day He rose again. He ascended into heaven, and is seated at the right hand of the Father. He will come again to judge the living and the dead. I believe in the Holy Spirit, the holy Catholic Church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body, and life everlasting. Amen.

On the “Our Father” beads

Eternal Father, I offer You the Body and Blood, Soul and Divinity of Your dearly beloved Son, Our Lord Jesus Christ, in atonement for our sins and those of the whole world.

On the “Hail Mary” beads

For the sake of His sorrowful Passion, have mercy on us and on the whole world.

PASS AND SHARE these prayers with those who need healing of mind, body or spirit. God bless you!

“…for nothing will be impossible for God.”

— Luke 1:37, NABRE

Get these free e-books when you subscribe to Single Catholic Writer — CLICK HERE.

Jocelyn Soriano is a Catholic devotional writer and poet. She wrote the books 366 Days of Compassion and Poems of Love and Letting Go. Aside from Medium, she also currently writes at I Take Off the Mask and Single Catholic Writer.

--

--