An Expected Ending to a Series of Unexpected Events

The Cedar Times EiC
The Cedar Times
Published in
5 min readJun 3, 2021

BY LIANN MELENDEZEditor-in-Chief

Photo by Theo Eilertsen Photography on Unsplash

A little over a year ago, the unexpected became a reality: Schools across the country — across the globe — shut down, millions of lives were lost to sickness, and the justice system went up in flames. Without a doubt, this past year was borderline apocalyptic, as daily activities were interrupted and morphed to abide CDC guidelines. Still, as a student, it was comforting to return to the halls of Lebanon High School and ride out the whirlwind that was my senior year.

Of course, this past year did not come without its challenges. After the pandemic hit, my main concern was suddenly no longer studying for an upcoming chemistry test. Like everybody else, my priorities shifted from my academics to the health and safety of loved ones. With that in mind, my motivation to learn and excel was completely shot to bits; I put more effort into getting out of bed than I did into my homework.

As the pandemic raged on, I was struck with a heavy sense of uncertainty and regret. What can I expect for my senior year? More online learning and unproductive zoom classes? How long will it take for life to return to normal?

Throughout my high school career, I wasn’t very interested in participating in hallowed school activities, like homecoming dances and football games against our rivaling schools. My ideal Friday night consisted of a good movie or book and my beloved couch.

Everything from Spirit Week to prom, I thought I would have the opportunity to do it all my senior year. Obviously, that plan didn’t work out too well. With COVID-19, students like me missed out on homecoming activities, traditional pep rallies, and more. Consequently, I began to regret not experiencing high school to its fullest potential. I knew I should have done more, and yet… I am not too disappointed with the way my final year of high school concluded, strangely enough. While there were many losses to this school year, I feel satisfied with the many accomplishments and memories I have gained throughout my high school career.

*Rewind to fours years ago, when I was a typical braces-wearing, pimple-faced freshman*

Four years ago, I walked into room L215 for journalism class with all the naivety a fourteen year old girl could muster. Going into high school, I exhibited the typical freshman personality — obnoxious with an aura that screamed clueless. Sure I had my aspirations, yet I lacked the necessary skills to make realistic goals out of those interests.

All I had going for me was my above average writing skills and below average PSSA math scores. Simply put, I had no expectations going into journalism class; I certainly did not expect to fall in love with cinematography or publishing. Through teachers like Mrs. Heefner and Mr. Musser, I explored and discovered new interests and skill sets that I had no prior experience with. When I started out in journalism, I made videos on iMovie (try to suppress your shiver of repulsion, I know I am) and wrote amateur articles. Don’t get me wrong, I was proud of my work, but now, years later, I can say I have come a long way.

As cheesy as this may sound, I have grown a lot these past few years. When I went into LHS, I felt almost invincible — I had great friends and teachers, likeable classes, and an easy homelife. Of course, as the years went on things changed; I was no longer this naive and obnoxious girl.

Like most high schoolers, I lost and made friends, loved and hated some teachers, and experienced some rough patches at home, and yet… I can only attribute my successes to Lebanon High School and the teachers who have significantly influenced who I am today.

Without the guidance and support of my teachers, I don’t think I would have had the courage to challenge myself and find confidence in my abilities.

Since I spent the majority of my high school career in L215, I would like to recognize the impact WLHS has had on me personally. Before WLHS, I had little to no interest in cinematography or video editing. It wasn’t until I gave journalism an open-minded chance that I was introduced to the exciting world of visual creativity and expression. Whenever I would edit an interesting video, I felt unrestricted; I could express myself and my ideas however I saw fit. Whenever I felt drained and uninspired, WLHS would charge my creative power back to life.

Hence, seeing all the new freshmen faces of WLHS fills me with so much excitement and joy for the future of the class. Notably, WLHS is filled with wonder-eyed students and their desire to learn and improve is both contagious and inspiring. I can not wait to see what they can do in four years. I trust wholeheartedly, with a little more experience and student body support, WLHS has the power to do great things.

P.S. Don’t forget to charge the cameras!

P.P.S. Don’t lose your quirks, it’s what makes you a special bunch!

Leaving Lebanon High School means I am leaving The Cedar Times and all that it has offered me. As I previously mentioned, I was an amateur writer at best four years ago, but Mrs. Heefner still found it in her heart to compliment my articles and encourage me to continue doing my best. Throughout high school, I have taken Mrs. Heefner’s unyielding support and confidence to heart; it is unquestionable the impact she and The Cedar Times have had on me.

Similar to WLHS, The Cedar Times was another way for me to express my creativity and thoughts. I found peace writing lighthearted articles on topics like movies and shows, but I found release writing about serious topics that I felt a duty to report on. Through The Cedar Times, I developed and refined my skills as a writer, editor, and leader; I feel as though it was all preparation for my upcoming chapter in college. I can only hope more students will recognize the unique opportunities and benefits of The Cedar Times; it’s more than reporting on school news, we have the chance to explore and dive deeper into a wide variety of topics and genres, from global news and politics to poetry and short stories.

The Cedar Times is a limitless window into the world of journalism and creative expression.

And yet…

Neither WLHS or The Cedar Times would have had the same impact on me without Mr. Musser or Mrs. Heefner. Therefore, I must recognize the undeniable effects of their support and guidance on me and my career path.

Without you, too many doors of opportunity would remain closed and unseen. Thank you for investing in me and recognizing my potential, even when I didn’t.

This moment is the beginning of something great for LHS seniors. Even though our final year did not go as planned, I am sure there are many take-aways from past high school experiences that can act as a silver lining during these uncertain times. I know going into college next fall, I will take away this one valuable lesson I have learned along the way at Lebanon High School: A single opportunity or a single decision can change the course of your life in the most unexpected ways. Just give it a chance.

--

--