Eliminate The Quarantine Boredom

Gianna Rodriguez
The Cedar Times
Published in
2 min readMay 1, 2020

BY GIANNA RODRIGUEZ

Staff Writer

Have you all run out of things to do at home during this stressful time? Do you need some new and fun ideas to keep yourself busy?

Well you’ve come to the right place! Instead of sleeping all day or playing video games, try and be more productive and engaged!

Check out this short list for some gear turning ideas to keep yourself attentive and lively:

  • Do a puzzle
  • Learn a new language
  • Learn a new skill like perfecting your grandma’s chocolate cake recipe or how to crochet a blanket
  • Exercise
  • Read a book
  • Practice your school lessons
  • Binge a new TV show like Dance Moms for those who love reality drama, or The Good Place for our lighthearted, comedy lovers
  • Do a crossword puzzle

These are just a few ideas you could potentially do to keep yourself busy, and there are plenty of other activities as well.

If you need some other ideas, allow me to shed some light on the subject.

I have been doing a lot to keep me occupied during this rather boring time. For example, I probably cleaned my room from top to bottom five times.

It’s not everyone’s cup of tea I’ll admit, but it really helps pass the time.

I also have an abundant amount of animals in my house so I have to groom them and clean their enclosures every so often.

I have also been watching a lot of YouTube and TikTok to freshen my knowledge on the latest gossip and trends around these days. The number of tik toks I’ve made in the past two weeks is astronomically unreal, and they are all very bad, so sadly they will never be shown anywhere.

Per my friends’ and teachers’ suggestions I began to dive deeper into the world of literature. The books I read may not be the same genre as the ones you like, but everyone has different tastes on any matter.

I started reading the Five Nights at Freddy’s series that already has five books out. (Yes, I have all five). I spend my spare time when I don’t have anything to do just by reading those books.

They are really long books, and I have the attention span of a goldfish, but I get as far as I can before dropping the paper and moving back to the digital world.

Quarantine is not exactly fun, and we can all agree on that, but as long as you find the right way to spend your time it cannot be that bad.

Stay safe and wash those hands!

--

--