Everyone Can Do Art

Ibby B.
The Cedar Times
Published in
4 min readSep 28, 2021

BY IBTISSAM BOUDRISS —Staff Writer

Art can be seen and heard in every corner of the earth — video games, museum galleries, social media, and so much more. But have you ever wondered how these types of different art concepts became so popular? Every creator of any sort of piece from anywhere has at least taken classes or tutored on how to draw, right? What if I said that you wouldn’t need that entirely? What if you can create your game design, painting, or digital drawing right at home? Personal learning helped me progress from an experimenting student to a passonate artist. I too am still learning to become an affective artist. To get a better idea of how much I’ve grown and learned, I’ll post before and after drawings that I’ve done in the past and what’s currently being worked on.

This drawing that I have displayed here is a character named Tom from Eddsworld. Since I was practically new to my art career, I took the fan art style and created it in my own sketchbook. I started drawing by taking reference photos or drawings from other people who are much more knowledgeable about art than me. Even if you’re taking their art style and redrawing it, it’s still a good way to begin your journey in finding your own design. The more you find other fan arts or just a drawing in general, you can take these pieces from each of them and combine the ones you like into your art style.

______ __

Half a year later, I decided to redraw the drawing of Tom from last year to see how far I had come. I thought of a pose of my own instead of redrawing the same body stance, hair style, and head shape. I chose to change things up for this piece. With a bit of creativity, I made Tom sit on his name. Hopefully, this gives out some sort of hope and inspiration to beginner artists begging and pleading for help on how to become as emotive as those who inspired them to become an artist in the first place. It’s okay to take images from the internet and redraw them traditionally (sketchbook/paper) or digitally (electronic devices). And once you get the hang of it, you can begin thinking of how you can change your way of drawing in your own style. Take some time on that thought!

______ __

For these last two drawings, I’d like you to examine them and see how much improvement an artist can have when taking references and trying to create an idea of their own. This first drawing was done on August 4th, 2019. I began drawing right around summer time in the same year, so this was one of my earliest attempts. As you can tell, I had a tough time working on the head shape and anatomy from below the neck. Since this was from my Instagram page, my caption for this artwork was titled, “Waiting During A Cold Night”. I adored drawing hair back then, and in the next drawing, you can see I took that liking very seriously.

______ __

Lastly, an art piece I am still working on at the moment. (To give a little info on who this is, her name is Hu tao from the popular game known as Genshin Impact.) As you can tell, I have highly improved throughout my years of drawing. I will say that I am still practicing on anatomy such as hands and body figures. I fairly love drawing hair because of the smooth and gentle movement of my hand as I stroke a few times. The same goes for eyes, I delight in drawing them as much as I do drawing hair. I will say that I had a hard time making the two eyes symmetrical and identical a while back, but taking time and focus changed that completely.

New artists, invest in your interests and transform them into talents. You will enjoy it so much more. “Everyone Can Do Art”. Everyone can start their drawing career with taking references and images. Everyone can be inspired by their favorite artist. Everyone can learn from their friends who can also help them find their path in art. Don’t bring hate on yourself when your art piece doesn’t come out the way you imagined it to be. Thats just you taking your first step. Meanwhile, you’ll work your way up and soon enough your dream has become something you do for a living or maybe just a hobby. Unfortunately, even I don’t draw as often as I would like to, but I know it’s something that I love to do deep down. And I hope you feel the same. So, do me a favor and make the art community proud as you look forward into your career!

--

--