Introduction

Jenna Behm
The Challenge of Decision Making
2 min readSep 21, 2017

Hello! My name is Jenna.

I’m the stereotypical girl: indecisive about food, what to wear, etc. My palms get sweaty and my mind goes a million miles a minute at the mention of a setback or a divide in the road.

My inability to make decisions has long effected my life negatively. Numerous hours have been wasted, looking for something for dinner or struggling to make an important life decision. Making career decisions in the future will impact my standard of living, where I work, and what exactly I do. In the grand scheme of things, I believe that effectively making decisions saves time and produces better results for the individual. The better I can discern my interests and aspirations, the better I can conduct my work and progress towards things that give my life meaning. Learning this skill will not only benefit myself, but my family and friends as well. Friends have to prod me to help decide on plans. By improving on this skill, I am sure my loved ones will be appreciative.

You will, no doubt, have to make decisions at some point in life. It is imperative that these decisions are thought over scrupulously and implemented well. Anyone who struggles to make decisions or feels trapped within their confined limits could benefit from improving upon decision making skills.

Decision making stems from knowledge of one’s self. It requires confidence in the face of setbacks. However, I don’t know how to personally implement that. I’d love to research scientific studies on the manner. By figuring out what statistically works for others, I will be able to integrate those practices into my own life. My life will greatly improve by reflecting on my own desires, studying decision making methods, and with constant practice making faster, more precise decisions. This effort will no doubt take time and the foresight to see a large decision and take the initiative to handle the decision well.

--

--