Beyond Moist and Woke

Words I Like, and Words I Don’t

Julia A. Keirns
the Challenged

--

Photo by Ryan Snaadt on Unsplash

The prompt for May 21 — Words: What is the most annoying word to you? What is your favorite word?

I asked Google what the most annoying word in the world was, and the results listed moist, like, whatever, and woke. I know people don’t like the word ‘moist’ for obvious reasons, but I never thought of it as annoying or making me feel angry. I can see ‘whatever’ as being annoying though.

The word ‘moist’ has topped the charts for decades as the most disliked word in the world.

But what is the most annoying word to me?

If it is annoying, then it needs to make me angry or frustrated. I had to think about this until I finally thought of one that would send me into a frenzy when one of the kids would say it to me…

“Chill!”

OMG, if I was already upset with them for something they did or said, and then they looked at me and told me to, “Chill,” I turned livid in 0.3 seconds.

--

--

Julia A. Keirns
the Challenged

Currently living in an RV full time and traveling across North America. The goal is simply to write about it. Editor of Fiction Shorts, the Challenged, and ROD.