THE CHALLENGED

Confidence Unlocked: The TOT Challenge Explored

Empowering choices with self-belief

Pooja Vishwanathan 🦋
the Challenged
Published in
6 min readJul 15, 2024

--

Image generated by the author using AI Bing Copilot

Here’s July’s TOT challenge by none other than Karen Schwartz. Last month’s was my first and this is my second. I hope you all enjoy reading and responding to my answers. Let’s go.

1. If you knew someone was cheating on someone you cared about, would you tell them or keep quiet?

As far as cheating is concerned, it should not be done. And about telling it to someone I deeply care about, I’ll tell them but they might or might not believe it considering how much they love or cherish that person. Everyone’s approach is different. I’ll warn and not meddle much but as a well-wisher, I’ll advise them to reconsider and think once. Rest assured, the person is wise enough to handle and manage their personal affairs.

2. Do you mainly consider yourself a confident person or a pushover?

I consider myself both. 90% confident and 10% pushover, because no one is perfect or imperfect either. A coin is flipped on both sides. It’s like boasting about yourself and saying that you know everything. Well, even the most intelligent person can fail and falter at times. So it’s better to balance both traits and carry on with life.

3. You are a driver, cyclist, or pedestrian, and someone cuts you off. Do you rant for hours or let it roll off your back?

It depends on the situation. But I’ll not be too soft either, because softness can cost you a lot. If it’s major, I’ll rant; otherwise, I’d rather let it roll off my back. There is no use in making people understand certain things at one point. It is better to stay off-limits.

4. You’ve written your first book and want to publicize it. Would you dare to approach random people on the street? Yes or no. Why?

Like I said, I’ve already written two books at this point. And I’d dare to publicize it even more by approaching random people because it’s life, right? If you don’t start from scratch, then you’ll never experience failure in your life. I believe it’s okay to start and fall again because whatever I’ve encountered in my life till now has taught me well. Be humble and rooted in your ground while you make waves in your industry.

5. Do you dress according to the current trend, or do you dress in your style, which may include wearing white pants in winter?

I do both but mostly it’s according to my style. I am comfortable in my skin but I do follow the rules. If it is a festival, any special occasion or a marriage, I’ll wear traditional. Otherwise, I mostly wear shorts and tees at home and for parties—western, and the same goes when I am outside having dinner or shopping. Casual and comfy. TBH, I don’t care about the standards. It is about showing your raw and realistic side, not the fakes.

Photo by Alice Alinari on Unsplash

6. Looking at your posture, do you slouch or hold your head high? What does it say about you?

I slouch sometimes, but only for relaxation. Otherwise, my head is always high. I am confident and chic. Your posture defines your personality. If I were lazy, it would be a couch potato. But since I am a working professional, my personality is that of a hard-working and passionate woman who loves writing and touching people’s hearts with her words.

7. Do you prefer publicly advocating for world change or silently doing your part?

I would rather do it silently because whatever one does is not that much appreciated by people. If I advocate the same thing, the masses might troll or ban me permanently Because people have become so selfish. They don’t care what others do or are doing. Things have become more competitive and less authentic now.

Photo by Ross Findon on Unsplash

8. To be a world leader, you must be confident. Do you also have to be more driven or compassionate? Choose the one that resonates with you the most.

To be a world leader, one must be more compassionate and goal-driven. That trait or quality will eventually give you enough confidence to stand on the stage. Being alone and simply vouching that becoming confident will fetch you fame is all hunky dory. You’ll only get dissatisfaction and dismay. There should be a sense of understanding of people and their needs. Yeah, they’ll blindly follow anyone but a true leader puts people at the forefront, keeping all his needs and selfishness behind. Selflessness should be there. I’ll follow the same rule. Putting people first above myself and fulfilling all of their wishes one step at a time.

“You gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You must do the thing you think you cannot do.”
~ Eleanor Roosevelt

9. Did you develop confidence most through education or experience?

I developed my confidence both through education and experience but it was my experience that did most of the work here. Whatever I am today is because of the successes and failures I’ve faced overall by being confident enough about my work and life. Education teaches basic and important things but it is life’s certain affairs and harsh truths that play a major role in making people who they are today. Whatever I’ve learned from parents and teachers has worked for me, but on a personal front, the things I’ve faced have made me more confident, bold, and upfront.

Photo by Leohoho on Unsplash

10. Are you where you thought you’d be at this age when you were a preteen? If not, are you better or worse?

No and never. When I was a preteen, I was a very shy kid. I talked with my classmates and followed all the rules like a good girl. An introverted soul was lingering inside, which eventually came out when I started going to college/university. At one point, I wanted to become a journalist but people’s comments let my morale down. Later, at some point, I realized that it was a futile idea. Those comments had nothing to do with me or my ultimate decision. I kept on wavering with certain choices until I decided that I wanted to do this particular thing. Life progressed and I decided to take my love for the English language and literature to another level. I did my bachelor's in that field and eventually my master's in mass communication and journalism. And writing became my solace during the pandemic, eventually becoming my profession and first love.

Again, as a 25-year-old, I might not be adept at certain things but I loved answering these questions, although some might find it hard.

If you want to take part in this or that challenge, check out the questions here and have fun playing. If you take part, tag me so that I can read your answers as well.

Join the Challenged:

--

--

Pooja Vishwanathan 🦋
the Challenged

25 || Author || Editor of The Love Pub || I live for words and my heart beats as a writer.