Daddy Dearest

I will always love you

Paula Shablo
the Challenged
Published in
5 min readJun 16, 2024

--

My first Christmas with Dad, 1960 (Shablo collection)

I got a phone call from my son first thing this morning. “Happy Father’s Day!”

“Thank you!”

If that exchange seems weird to you, I’m going to assume that you and your children had good relationships with fathers.

My children had a legitimate, living father, but he was not involved with their lives after our divorce. I was Mom AND Dad, and the kids acknowledge that every year.

Now, me — I was a fortunate one. My father was my number one favorite guy. I wanted to be just like him when I grew up.

I guess that actually came to pass, since I was much the same “Dad” to my kids as he was to me.

We were both masters of “The Lecture”. Any kid having to sit through it was soon begging for a spanking so it could all be done and over with. *heeheehee.

We didn’t spank. It’s not effective. I think “the Lecture” actually was. Sure, you had to sit there and listen to it, and your first instinct was to go along so it would end sooner, but that’s not how it worked, because there was a whole process.

  1. This is what you did wrong
  2. This is why it was wrong
  3. This is the right way to do it
  4. This is what’s going to happen now

--

--

Paula Shablo
the Challenged

Published Author. Loving daughter, mom, Grandma. Bona fide Geek with the graphic tees to prove it. Believer of all the fantastic things. Artist, musician & fan.