the Challenged

Four Years Since Cancer Diagnosis

10 Word Challenge

Lynn L. Alexander
the Challenged
Published in
3 min readSep 17, 2024

--

Photo by Bui Ngoc on Unsplash

I read an article by Michael Rhodes in The Daily Cuppa that led me to a challenge by Katie Michaelson.

She asks us to write about each of these words for the next ten days. I am cheating because today is a big day for me, and I am combining four of the words.

Kindness Gratitude
Compassion Forgiveness
Hope Resilience
Humility Creativity
Courage Love

Exactly four years ago today, I was operated on and diagnosed with stage 3 ovarian cancer. It was a tremendous shock because I was told there was only a 5% chance that it was cancer.

They only discovered my cancer because I had kidney stones. If I hadn’t had a CT scan for those, I would not be here today writing this.

During this time, I also had three pulmonary emboli and had to give myself two injections daily for 16 months.

I would not have made it through this difficult time without the kindness of my friends and family, as well as my home health care team.

I never realized I had courage until going through this health crisis. My diagnosis was grim enough, but it was during…

--

--

Lynn L. Alexander
the Challenged

Eclectic writer. Ovarian cancer survivor. My interests include humor, health, grief, personal essays and entertainment. Please follow me on my journey.