I’m Pissed!

PG-13: Language

Nancy Oglesby
the Challenged
Published in
3 min readFeb 23, 2024

--

Image Credit: Canva/Author

I’ve combined two prompts. Yesterday, Karen Schwartz wanted your best rant, and today’s prompt is, “If you could paint your emotions, what colors would dominate the canvas?”

I apologize in advance for my language, I’m a tad pissed off. If you’re easily offended, go ahead and skip this one.

First, I’d put pictures of every white, racist, homophobic, male Republican legislator and judge on the canvas. I’d paint a layer of Modpodge over them so they knew they were unable to escape, much like a woman forced to endure a pregnancy caused by her rapist or carry a child to term who will die upon delivery. Yeah … that kind of suffocating trauma.

Then, I’d smear bloody fucking red from edge to edge.

Yeah … that’s my emotion after the bloody fucking Alabama Supreme Court ruled that frozen embryos are people while denying nutrition and healthcare, dental care, and a warm bed, to those who have made their way into our fucked up world.

Then invoked Jesus over and over in that ruling, but conveniently ignores Jesus’ guidance regarding the poor.

And, then I’ll smear more bloody red from top to bottom, as the legislators in Kansas try to find ways to limit abortion access, despite an overwhelming vote by the people of Kansas to keep a woman’s right to an…

--

--

Nancy Oglesby
the Challenged

I explore life and tell stories! Embracing the world of Drabbles. Publisher of Fiction Shorts, the Challenged, and Another Fucking Publication