Prompt | Poetry | Winter | The Challenged

London Winter Away From Home

A poem for Nancy Oglesby’s December Challenge prompt: write a poem about winter.

Harry Hogg
the Challenged

--

Bing Image Creator

Sitting by the window on this noisy London bus
Winter’s against the window and causing quite a fuss
I’m writing this letter having to wear my gloves
All to tell you that I’m well and its only you I love

People are cursing the ice as they cross the marketplace
I know it's really dumb but I’ve been looking for your face
One old girl fell, I went to offer help and took her by the arm
It was very slippery I did not want her to come to any harm

I left her when she was safely across the square
Doing her Christmas shopping she was looking for a bear
Her great grandchild was having his very first Christmas
The choir by the church were singing Good King Wenceslas

I’d write a song for you if I wasn’t so fucking old
When winter comes, I sure feel the aching and the cold
It wouldn’t be a song for winter but for lovers and a moon
The cold has reached my toes they will drop off pretty soon

I miss you so much, darling, London just makes me sigh
Its good the cold will stop me writing before I begin to cry
I’ll be home soon; it’s been a terrible week
Every day away sees the tears turn solid upon my rosy cheek

--

--

Harry Hogg
the Challenged

Ex Greenpeace, writing since a teenager. Will be writing ‘Lori Tales’ exclusively for JK Talla Publishing in the Spring of 2025