Tammy and the Bachelor 1957

Adrienne Beaumont
the Challenged
Published in
1 min readMay 31, 2024

--

May 30 — Movies: What was the first movie you ever saw in a movie theatre?

I was 7 years old when I saw Tammy and the Bachelor. I thought the title of the movie was Tammy. I remember the part where she finds the man floating in the backwater. And I remember the song Tammy’s in Love.

After I’d seen the movie, I wanted my name changed to Tammy. I loved this song so much. It makes me sad listening to it, but I can’t stop. Many years later, I wanted to name my daughter Tammy, but had to settle for naming the cat Tammy. The daughter ended up being Stacey, her father’s choice.

I wonder what percentage of the Tammies in the world were named after Debbie Reynold’s Tammy in this movie. Do you know a Tammy or two?

Here’s the beautiful song.

Here’s a part of the movie.

--

--

Adrienne Beaumont
the Challenged

I’m Australian. I love to travel and write about my adventures.I write about my daily life as a mother and grandmother as well as my past experiences.