THE CHALLENGED DAILY PROMPT

The Perfect Sandwich Combination for People with Twisted Minds

Lee J. Bentch
the Challenged

--

I love my crunch

A picture of a cream cheese and grape jelly sandwich
Photo by Mario Mesaglio on Unsplash

I love my crunch, but my dentist hates it.

When I was growing up, my mother got tired of making peanut and jelly sandwiches. One day, she surprised me with a cream cheese and jelly sandwich.

At first, it threw me off. My routine was disrupted, but after a few bites, I realized the combination was quite pleasant.

Many decades later, my favorite sandwich became cream cheese and orange marmalade. But not just the mundane mouthfeel one gets from bread, jelly, and a soft cheesy ingredient; I’ve added various ingredients to the sandwich, making it a crunchier and more satisfying dish.

And it’s not just taste and texture that has improved; a bit of nutrition has been added.

Over the years, adding cucumbers to my sandwiches provided a flavorful ingredient. But then I realized I could also add carrots or celery. After all, celery with cream cheese makes a great snack.

Creamy, crunchy sandwiches make me happy, especially with sourdough bread served with a cold glass of lemonade and a side order of crunchy pita chips.

--

--

Lee J. Bentch
the Challenged

I am an author, a technology guy, a grandad, a widower, and a man with many interests. I write to inform and entertain. Email: lee@lbentch.com