This Is Very Much Familiar…

Writing it is as fun as saying it!

Ishika Singh
the Challenged
2 min readJan 18, 2024

--

Randy wants to know ‘What is your familiar saying, and why do you like it?’

Photo by Park Troopers on Unsplash

I didn’t have any idea that I was going to post on it. Because what familiar saying I have is absolutely gonna be funny. Though it is not used frequently, it’s one of my favourites. So, here it goes:

“Buri Nazar Wale Tera Muh Kala!!”

LOL!!! 😊

It means, basically, ‘Touch wood’, ‘Protect from Evil Eye’.

But the way of saying it is so funny, I burst into laughter (though I’ve used it rarely).

So, my advice, when you’re bored of saying touch wood, use it. Let them think about what you said. Well, this isn’t meant to hurt anyone. You can take it as a fun task.

I got one more! Please let me:

“Dahi-Machli le aiha”

Well, I do speak Hindi. With it I can also have a chit-chat in Bhojpuri — My Native Language. My grandmother often uses this and so do I.

It is generally used to wish ‘Good Luck for Journey’ or ‘Happy Journey’!

And this is something I love to say. It really pleases me when I wish someone Good Luck for whatever path they’re going to walk on.

Thanks Randy for such an amazing prompt. It was so much fun writing about it.

--

--

Ishika Singh
the Challenged

We all have got only one life. If we don't enjoy, then what's the purpose of living? :)