Today is O. Henry Pun-off Day!

How eggciting

Lynn L. Alexander
the Challenged

--

Created with BING AI

Imagine my excitement when I found out there is an annual O. Henry Pun-off the day before Mother’s Day. How could I have not known this? I can’t believe my doting mother never told me!

She always said, “I love ewe” to me and I bebleated her. Don’t worry. I never would have made her feel sheepish for this oversight. I am thrilled to know the truth. You don’t think she was trying to pull the wool over my eyes, do you?

The discovery of this day brings me shear satisfaction. My loving mother even provided me with fleece clothing.

For those who don’t know me, puns are my forte. I just can’t help it. Much of my writing includes puns.

The competition takes place in Austin, Texas, where punsters get together to pun around with each other.

It’s not like I am going to hop on a plane and participate in this wonderful event.

The competition honors the great literary author, O. Henry, who often used wordplay in his works. The Gift of the Magi is O. Henry’s most…

--

--

Lynn L. Alexander
the Challenged

Eclectic writer. Ovarian cancer survivor. My interests include humor, health, grief, personal essays and entertainment. Please follow me on my journey.