Prompts/Childhood TV/Nostalgia

Was Captain Kangaroo a “Real” Captain?

Randy Pulley
the Challenged
3 min readAug 6, 2023

--

August Daily Prompt #6 What’s a TV show or movie from your childhood that you think no one else remembers?

Captain Kangaroo and his gang Photo from Wikipedia

Today’s prompt comes from Nicole Peery. She asks the question, “What’s a TV show or movie from your childhood that you think no one else remembers?”

Well, maybe you will remember this one fondly. Captain Kangaroo ran from the year I was born, 1955, all the way until 1984, making it the longest running nationally broadcast children's show of its time. Do you remember it?

I watched this show religiously when I was a kid, from the time I was about five, in 1960, until I was nine or ten. I still remember little me, plopped four feet from the TV, eating my dry Cheerios, making a mess on the living room floor for mom to clean up later.

It was during episodes of Captain Kangaroo’s reading sessions, I first learned about Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel. I had to have that book and remember mom buying it for me and reading it to me many times right before bed. I dreamed of having my own steam shovel, just like my hero, Mike Mulligan.

I was also mesmerized by the zany cartoon escapades of Tom Terrific, a wonder kid who could use his “Thinking Cap,” a funnel he wore as hat, to become anything he could…

--

--

Randy Pulley
the Challenged

Retired, enjoying finding the humor in life. Top Writer in Food.