A Eulogy for Flexibility

How to keep rolling with the punches as time goes by

Andrea Pronk
The Changing Blog

--

Photo by Annika Treial on Unsplash

“I don’t believe in ageing. I believe in forever altering one’s aspect to the sun. Hence my optimism. And to alter now, cleanly and sanely, I want to shuffle off this loose living randomness: people; reviews; fame; all the glittering scales; and be withdrawn, and concentrated.”
― Virginia Woolf, A Writer’s Diary

It is true: when you get older, you become less flexible, both in the literal and the figurative sense.

Though overweight for most of my life (I was already too heavy as a toddler), I once prided myself on being extremely flexible — partly due to my ‘loose joints’, as an orthopaedist once insensitively pointed out. A physical therapist I had to see regularly as a child once told me I was nimble as a rubber ball.
I used to enjoy yoga without any restrictions.

These days, I’m having trouble lifting my legs up high enough to put on my pants. The way I fumble around these days would be laughable if it wasn’t so annoying.
Jealously I observe my husband, who is able to squat down with the drop of a hat…

--

--

Andrea Pronk
The Changing Blog

Writer and editor with an inquisitive mind, an outwritten opinion and her Heart in the Write Place writes about writing, the creative process and (The) Change.