Serious Considerations BEFORE Buying a Sugar Glider

Laura Kathryn Bright
The Cheese Plate
Published in
3 min readNov 21, 2019

--

If you’re reading this, you probably know what a sugar glider is. For individuals who don’t know, they are a small, arboreal, gliding possum. In other words, they are pretty much weird, fuzzy aliens. These little gummy bears are popular pets that are legal in most U.S. states.

Sugar gliders are cute — really cute! They have huge, irresistible eyes, and extremely soft fur. Since they’re small (only about 5 ounces), I thought that owning a sugar glider would be no big deal. I was wrong.

Raisin Enjoys an Orange Slice

What I Wish I Had Known Before Buying a Glider

  • Sugar gliders will poop on you every time you hold them.
  • Sugar gliders will poop on your friends and family members.
  • Sugar gliders will poop on your couch.

Ok, I think you’re getting the trend here. No, you cannot potty train these animals.

Guess what Raisin just did on my desk? You’re right!
  • Gliders like to escape. This includes busting out of their “glider-proof” cages. Be prepared to go to Lowe’s Home Improvement. You will need to spend some money on materials and several hours making the cage more secure. It will not work.
  • The unexpected, not-cute noise. These pets do NOT sound like you think they will. Sure, they can make cute little squeaks, especially when they eat. However, the noise my glider, Raisin, produces most often could best be described by hitting caps lock and sitting on my keyboard. This noise is pretty scary if you aren’t used to it. It’s called “crabbing” and gliders make it when they are grouchy.
  • Gliders are grouchy — often. That’s because, unless you are a nocturnal species yourself, you will be on a different schedule than your new pet. Essentially, whenever you want to hold your glider, you will have to wake it up from a nap. Like most of us, gliders do not like being woken up.
  • Sugar gliders’ little “needle toes.” Gliders are equipped with some serious little razor claws. While your glider poops on you, it will use its little talons to scratch your skin. (Honestly, they climb trees in the wild and jump off so they can feel the wind beneath their flaps. Why didn’t I expect claws? Am I a complete moron?)
  • You’ll need to buy a lot of baby wipes.

I love my glider, and she can be very sweet. One of her favorite activities is cuddling up close to me in a soft “blankie.” Please note that her blankets are for ‘Raisin purposes only’ and get washed frequently. When I wrap her up, I call her a “Raisin burrito.”

While sugar gliders can be enjoyable and interesting, please learn from my unexpected experience. If you are set on buying a glider, you should definitely spend some time interacting with one beforehand. Doing so will help you to know what you’re getting yourself into. Don’t forget about the baby wipes.

Sources:

Exotic Nutrition. (2019, October 10). Are Sugar Gliders Legal in My State? Retrieved from https://www.exoticnutrition.com/are-sugar-gliders-legal-in-my-state.aspx.

Sartore, J. (2018, December 14). Sugar Glider. Retrieved from https://www.nationalgeographic.com/animals/mammals/s/sugar-glider/.

--

--

Laura Kathryn Bright
The Cheese Plate

Sugar glider “mom.” Believer in magic, tolerance, and miracles. Writer, librarian, and artist finding the humor in a complicated world.