Happy Holidays! What Christmas Means to Me

By: Melanie Lavoie

The Chic Geek
The Chic Geek
3 min readDec 21, 2018

--

There are two types of people that come to mind when the holiday season is in full swing. On one hand, you have people breaking out their ugly Christmas sweater, meanwhile, some are eye-rolling at the first note of ‘Jingle Bells’.

In my home, ‘How the Grinch Stole Christmas’ and ‘ELF’ are two Christmas classics that are guaranteed to be on tv as we enjoy a glass of eggnog while decorating the tree. I didn’t discover the deliciousness of eggnog until I was old enough to drink — that holiday spice in the nog was definitely not nutmeg.

We still continue this tradition in my household, but I have been more aware of the people around me during this time of year, especially this holiday season.

2017 was a particularly tough year for many people and I was certainly no exception. From getting laid-off, selling my home to watching a 6-year relationship crumble before my eyes — Christmas suddenly became a time of darkness, meanwhile, everything around me was merry and bright.

During this time, I went through a cycle of loss, pain and acceptance, but it also inspired me to help others during my time of grief. Aside from volunteering at Chic Geek, I decided to volunteer at local charities and actually put my energy to work instead of tears. I first started with making my first blood donation, then bagging lunches for children in need to food prep at the local food bank. Through these experiences, I had the opportunity to meet and converse with many amazing individuals who turned out to be experiencing their own rough hurdles in life.

Did you know that it takes up to five donors to help a cancer patient and just ten dollars can help feed four homeless youths in Calgary? As I learn more about my community and hear the stories from people I’ve met throughout the year, I suddenly realized how confined I was within the walls that I’ve put up around me. I was oblivious to people who were suffering just as much, if not more, than me.

It is funny yet ironic when we are stuck within the four walls of our own world, we forget the rest of world is actually a huge planet and you are a part of it -you matter in this world.

Supporting one another is an essential part of Chic Geek’s values and I was grateful to have found this organization at the time I needed it most. I learned to be brave, embraced my curiosity and I even met some of the most courageous and inspirational women along the way. Whether it is ‘Merry Christmas’ or ‘happy holidays’, I encourage you to take this time to think about what really matters to you. Whether it is self-care or care for others, take this time as a gift to grow, support, and stay curious, because we only have so much time before it falls like snow.

We are very, very small, but we are profoundly capable of very, very big things.” –Stephen Hawking

--

--

The Chic Geek
The Chic Geek

is a Calgary-based non-profit building a supportive community for women at the intersection of technology and entrepreneurship. http://www.thechicgeek.ca