Micki Mutch: The Essence of an Entrepreneur

Claudia Wong
The Chic Geek
5 min readMay 13, 2018

--

These days it seems as if everyone has a side hustle or a job outside their day job. The number of Canadians with multiple jobs has more than doubled in the last 40 years to 5.3 per cent last year and over 44 million Americans have a side hustle and this trend is likely to increase. The motivators behind a side hustle could range from covering the ever-increasing cost of living or to chase a passion.

What happens when the possibility arises for the side hustle to turn into a full-time gig? How does someone find the courage to quit their day job and take a chance on entrepreneurship? Micki Mutch, long-time Geek and current Geek Store Coordinator, recently turned her side hustle as the owner of The Olfactory Shop, an essential oils shop, into a full-time job. Chic Geek caught up with Micki on her departure from Benevity and her journey into being self-employed full-time.

CG: Before working full time for your business, the Olfactory Shop, what was your role at Benevity like as a Charity Relations Coordinator?

MM: It was largely providing support to charities with a focus on building relationships. We needed to become experts in the needs of the various charities because it’s not as simple as cutting a charity a cheque.

CG: What did you enjoy most about that role?

MM: You can feel your impact right away. We worked to change the corporate-charity donation landscape. You can walk someone from confusion to understanding, and I’ve always found that very rewarding. I love the people I worked with too.

CG: And what made you decide to run The Olfactory Shop full time?

I had always known that I had an entrepreneurial drive, but I really struggled in school, so I wasn’t confident in myself. Since graduating university, I’ve been able to step into my confidence due to gaining work experience. My curiosity has also been embraced as a strength, which built my confidence so much. I turned 30 this year and realised how quickly time moves. My greatest fear turned from “what if I fail” to “what if I never try”.

CG: How did your role at Benevity or volunteer experience at Chic Geek weave into running The Olfactory Shop?

MM: I like supporting others, so Chic Geek definitely taught me how to do that better and always look for a way that I can help someone else. This has influenced my business mindset in that when I’m looking for a retail partner, I always seek how I can benefit them first, rather than thinking only about my benefit from them. Benevity encouraged my curiosity so it’s helped me always try to look at problems as opportunities.

CG: How did you get into aromatherapy?

MM: Around grade 5, I got a book on aromatherapy. That was my first interest in natural health. I was surprised you could smell something, and it could trigger a strong memory, for example. It seemed like magic and I was hooked.

CG: What was it like learning e-commerce for your business?

MM: I was first interested in e-commerce because of the scalability. But I didn’t even know what Shopify was or how to sell your products online at first. I tried learning by doing because I’m a fan of ‘prototyping’ through life. When something fails, I use reflection as a tool to make sure I learn from it and prevent repeating mistakes.

CG: How do you test for areas of improvement or see when things fail?

MM: I’m constantly seeking feedback on the user experience because the ‘feel’ is super important to me, but I’ve stopped asking for feedback from those who are too close to me as they are often biased. I’m wanting to play around with segmented customer surveys in the near future and possible IG giveaways too. I notice a failure when something isn’t meeting my expectations — I ask “why” and start looking at what can change.

CG: How did you transition to a less structured work schedule because of the nature of self-employment?

MM: That was my biggest fear, actually, when leaving Benevity because I enjoy structure. I’m reframing this fear into understanding that I’m just inexperienced with unstructured working. Prior to leaving Benevity, I did a lot of prototyping for creating a weekly structure for running Olfactory full time. It’s still evolving but right now I’m finding having weekly and daily goals nailed down by Sunday night works well for me.

CG: What is a big goal you have for 2018?

MM: To fail faster and to fall in love with marketing. Sometimes marketing can feel like bragging, so I’m working on being more comfortable with marketing.

CG: What was it like having your first customer?

MM: I was like “really!?” I still have that feeling — because I’m excited and grateful every time someone chooses something I made.

CG: What’s your favourite item you sell?

MM: My favourite items are my oil blends for the diffuser and the sprays because they are so easy to use and versatile. I love making custom products as well. That part is not scalable, but it’s where my passion really is! I love that something all natural smells really good and is useful.

CG: Finally, any advice you could give to someone wanting to start an e-commerce business?

MM: Don’t wait for it to be perfect, just launch it today and keep iterating. Some people think the universe needs to align, but think of ways to prototype it now and then see if there’s an interest. You don’t need all the answers, but you do need to ask the questions.

Entrepreneurship and quitting your day job can be daunting. Join Chic Geek at our MEETnTECH event on May 16 where we will have speakers to answer your questions about making the transition from a side gig to full-time job. Come and mingle with other Calgarians in a similar side gig stage as you and see how you can turn your side gig into your dream career.

--

--