Team Unite: We built an app!

Claudia Wong
The Chic Geek
Published in
4 min readFeb 18, 2018

--

Imagine you could learn how to create a mobile app from scratch right now with the help of professional mentors. Would you be overwhelmed at the thought of all the computer programming, or be courageous and take the opportunity?

Technovation is the world’s largest global tech entrepreneurship competition for high school girls and offers the opportunity to develop a mobile app solution that addresses a specific problem in the community. In 2017, the Technovation Challenge for the Calgary Region awarded their grand prize to Team Unite, a group of four high school girls from Bishop McNally High School. Partnering with a Calgary based non-profit, Leftovers Foundation, Team Unite developed an app to streamline the Leftovers Foundation’s day-to-day operations of rescuing and rerouting safe, but unsold food from local bakeries and grocery stores.

In celebration of International Day of Women and Girls in Science on February 11th, Chic Geek had a chance to chat with Leanne, Veyra, Donnatella and Terry after school to see how girls can be encouraged to pursue STEM.

How did each of you get involved with Technovation?

Leanne: I joined Technovation in grade 12. I wasn’t interested in tech until I got into technovation, where I realized my interest in computer science and coding.

Donnatella: In grade 11, I started school with the intention to keep my grades up, then I got the opportunity to join Technovation which opened many doors.

Terry: I was introduced to Technovation in grade 10. At the kickoff event, I realized what I was getting myself into, and now a lot of opportunities have opened.

Veyra: It started off with my computer science teacher telling me I could get more exposure to programing if I joined Technovation.

It seems like most of you joined Technovation by chance. How do you think opportunities like this or computer science could be better marketed to girls?

Leanne: I think it should be integrated into the elementary curriculum. It would be incredible to teach younger kids simple coding schemes or to integrate problem solving into the curriculum.

Donnatella: This could empower girls to take classes like computer science or mechanics.

Leanne: Another way to encourage girls would be to create more programs or platforms for girls to get involved with this. If Kumon has tutoring for math, could there be some face-to-face tutoring program for computer science? I think programming has a lot of self-learning, which can be intimidating.

For the Technovation competition, what was the most challenging part?

Veyra: Deadlines!

Terry: Overthinking as well. We wanted to make everything perfect.

Leanne: Our mentors pushed us and disciplined us for the real world — definitely what you call tough love. We became so focused to get things done.

What were skills besides programming that you learned?

Donnatella: If I didn’t join Technovaton, I would still have issues with public speaking and stuttering. One of our mentors really helped me with public speaking. Now in class when we’re asked to present, I get excited.

Veyra: Donna did the partial UX design and then the rest of us got involved in it, so we learned UX design too.

Terry: I learned to use my email for business or professional matters instead of just spam!

What else did you think of your mentors?

Veyra: They’re like our second family now. They guided us through the obstacles, but still let us figure things out on our own.

Leanne: We have a lot of gratitude for them- they would sometimes pay for our late night dinner!

What surprised you most about joining Technovation?

Donnatella: We didn’t think people downtown would have the time or patience to help us.

Veyra: Technovation is all volunteer-based and everyone helped boost our confidence in pitching.

Leanne: We actually met Kylie Woods at CodeGirl at Globe cinema. They all motivated us to keep on going and gave us tips on how we can improve ourselves. Stephen King taught us to take out unnecessary parts in pitch and to get to the point.

I also noticed that most of you aren’t heading towards careers in computer science or directly related to STEM. I thought this would be the case after Technovation?

Terry: I’m definitely more of the creative type and I love the culinary arts. My idea is having a programming or tech background within the culinary arts.

Leanne: I wasn’t interested in developing for someone else. I want to incorporate computer science into my own major, communications. For example, Terry’s into culinary arts. How can we add coding to that? Gastronomy is trending, so how can we add tech to that?

Finally, what’s some life advice you can pass onto readers?

Terry: When opportunities come your way, say yes so you don’t have regrets.

Leanne: Think about what you could do today to inspire others! The girls at Technovation look up to us. Be your own role model as well as someone else’s role model.

Donnatella: If you come across an obstacle, it’s not a dead end. You can find a way around it.

Veyra: When you’re struggling and if you can’t fix the problem, don’t be afraid to rely on those around you. Technovation was not a one person competition, it was a team competition.

Inspired to learn something new in tech? Join us at our MeetnTech events. Maybe you have an idea in mind, but want a mentor to help guide you? Chic Geek also offers a mentorship program. Or perhaps you have a daughter in high school wanting to persue tech- check out Technovation.

--

--