If You Had a Choice? Hawk or Dove?

Ilexa Yardley
The Circular Theory
2 min readJul 6, 2017

If you could pick the bird, which one for you? Not talking politics. For sure.

X or Y?

It might be the all-time most honest dating, or business interview, question: if you had a choice, would you rather be a hawk or a dove? I am not talking politics here. I am talking characteristics of the bird. Including survival skills.

I can’t think of many people who would say dove, when it comes to survival. Although, 50–50, I am, most definitely, half-wrong. It’s more a question about truth. If, on a date, or in a business interview, would you tell the truth if asked this question?

And, then, the more interesting follow on question: why did you pick your choice? Tells the story behind your story.

I recall watching peregrine falcons fishing for lunch. Amazing to watch. I can see why people would (always) choose hawk. But, on the other hand, there is the other hand. Conservation of the circle IS the core dynamic in nature (you can’t have X without Y). Somebody has to choose dove!

https://www.amazon.com/Circle-Fifths-Guide-Circular-Theory/dp/1548561045/

--

--