The Zakim Bridge

Alex Abboud
The Cities Tribune
Published in
1 min readApr 6, 2016
The Leonard P. Zakim Bunker Hill Memorial Bridge. Boston, MA.

The Zakim Bridge is one of my favorite sites. I’m not entirely sure why, to be honest. Though I might have heard about it previously, I first saw it driving into Boston in the fall of 2005. Perhaps it evokes good memories of that road trip. It might also be because I’d never seen a cable-stayed bridge like it before in person. I love the aesthetics of that style (though not the problems with ice).

I’ve been back to Boston a few times since, and have gone to see the bridge every time. It’s presence next to the Garden and near the North End makes that easy. The trip becomes a part of my routine; something familiar and reassuring.

This photo is from a trip in March 2011. It’s taken on the Charlestown side of the river.

--

--

Alex Abboud
The Cities Tribune

Writing and photos about cities at The Cities Tribune. Other posts on main page. Communications pro. Marathoner. Baseball and soccer fan.