City is the place for you — champions

City, Uni of London
The City Scoop
Published in
4 min readAug 14, 2019

60,000 students joined British Universities in 2018 and there are 60,000 reasons why you should join City, University of London.

To save your eyes some strain and with the help of some of our incredible students who you could be studying with, we’ve picked out some of the best reasons why City is the place for you.

Find out why City is the place for you.

A place for champions

If your aspirations lie on the pitch or field, then City’s largest student sports facility in central London, which has hosted NBA teams three years in a row, is the place for you.

CitySport

Take it from Commonwealth Games Team England runner Cheriece Hylton, (BSc Business Management 2019): “I think it is cool that NBA teams like the Celtics and 76ers came to CitySport, as it showcases just how great the facilities are, I went to the game and felt proud that they were at my university.

“Bayes Business School (formerly Cass) is the best business school in London, and that is why I chose it. I also like how supportive the lecturers are and how they make their modules interesting and engaging.”

Cheriece Hylton, (BSc Business Management 2019)

If that is not enough to get you interested then perhaps gold medal-winning Team GB Men’s Eight Rowing Team Rufus Scholefield, (GDL Law 2019), can persuade you.

Upon winning his gold medal Rufus said: “City has been an enormous help to my rowing career. Studying Law at one of the UK’s top postgraduate law schools can be challenging — especially when you have to juggle essays and exams with training!”

Rufus Scholefield, (GDL Law 2019)

A place for leaders

If you fancy yourself a future leader then find your voice here at City.

As an ambassador for City and the world, Gwendolyn Myers, (MA International Politics and Human Rights), who started her non-profit organisation Messengers of Peace, at the age of 17, cites City as a key influencer in her success.

Gwendolyn Myers, (MA International Politics and Human Rights)

“I have 10 years of experience working in my non-profit, but I believe in continual learning and that is what brought me to City. It is not just about the grades, it is about the theory and different opinions which I can use to shape my work.

“I have spoken at events across the world including Peace Con 2018 in Washington DC and the first International Symposium on Youth involvement in Helsinki, where I was able to put the same questions that I ask in my lectures to the audience.”

A place to be different

Find your individualism and dare to be different at City.

Join students like Helena Hicks, (BA Journalism), Founder of Females in Motorsport, who defies stereotypes in her work in Formula 1.

Helena said: “In the paddock, I am usually the only girl and sometimes you get off looks, it does feel like I am in a man’s world.

Helena Hicks, (BA Journalism)

“This actually encourages me though, as when people tell me I am a girl and I cannot like racing, it makes me like it even more as I want to prove them wrong!

“I sometimes get to use my interviews around F1 for my university work too, which is really helpful. The module I did on digital journalism at City was incredibly helpful for the first day of my press officer job, as I had been taught to understand the Twitter algorithms and Google analytics at City.”

A place for change

Any student will tell you that university can be difficult, but City is the perfect place to find your second family who will support you no matter what.

After suffering a personal tragedy after his first exam at City, former captain of City Men’s Rugby Team and recent graduate Ed Armitage, (LLB Law 2019) turned to his teammates when things got rough.

Ed Armitage, (LLB Law 2019) and City Men’s Rugby Team.

“You hear all these things about having to toughen up or man up, but in reality that gets you nowhere. I turned to my teammates and friends for help, as you cannot deal with these things alone.

“I’d urge any student to get involved in a team, even if you have never done it before. It helps so much while at university as it gives you an escape from everything. It is nice to be able to focus on one thing rather than stressing about everything else.”

Find out more via our website.

--

--

City, Uni of London
The City Scoop

Official Medium page from City, University of London. A leading University committed to academic excellence and focused on business & the professions