The End All NYC Pizza Guide

From a guy who knows

Mugsy Russo
The city so nice they named it twice

--

There is a lot of “pizza guides” I just read one from a couple named Codie and Kelli. First rule of Pizza Guides never trust a pizza guide from a couple named Codie and Kellie. Its almost like hiring a guy named Spike to do your taxes. Nuff Said. I am Mugsy Russo, pizza snob extraordinaire. I have scoured the Boroughs of New York and Even Long Island, eaten thousands of slices and have come up with a verdict. Aren’t you lucky?

I have actually decided to give you the two best in Each Borough and the two best in Nassau County. At the end of the Article I will give my End all Best Pizzeria in NYC (which by the way also means best in the world).I am not an expert on Suffolk County or Westchester, so you will have to use another guide if your visiting there. If you do use another guide for those area’s, refer to the first rule.

Manhattan

John's Pizza:

278 Bleecker St (between Jones St & Morton St)

Still king of Manhattan in my opinion. I have never ate at Johns and had a bad slice, never. I still think it pales in comparison to outter boroughs but if your in Manhattan, this is the spot to be.

Artichoke Basille pizza

328 E 14th St, New York

This place I wasn’t so sure about. Its really sloppy and messing and greasy, more so than regular pizza. Its a chore to eat. But man does it have flavor. I just wish it was easier to eat, this is knife and fork Pizza.

Honorable Mention:

Patsy’s Pizza

1279 1st Ave, New York

I hate to even include this one, because its probably my least favorite on the list…. However Manhattan is not the premier spot for pizza, I Generally only visit the above two, and on rare occasion I will pop in to Patsy’s if I’m uptown. Never Visit the downtown location… its not the same. Don’t get me wrong I enjoy Patsy’s but I prefer the others.

Brooklyn

DiFara’s Pizza

1424 Ave J Brooklyn

Hands down one of the best slices in NYC. I love watching the old guy pull the pizza from those 550 degree ovens with his bare hands. This is a unique experience and a must try for every pizza connoisseur. I still dream about this pizza. I constantly think about it, I am in love with Difara’s.

Lucali

575 Henry St, Brooklyn

Soooooo flavorful, they make a wonderful sauce that you will want to drink by the cupful. They also make a thick crust , I always ask for a side of extra sauce and dip the rather large crust in it. There is an unbelievable Flavor explosion from this pizza. In my opinion this beats out a lot of Pizzerias normally found on Brooklyn list.

Honorable Mention:

L&B Spumoni Gardens

2725 86th St

This is Brooklyn. This is an amazing slice. Brooklyn is seriously the hardest borough to break down with two and an honorable mention. Most likely the top 5 in Brooklyn will beat most of the number ones from other boroughs (MOST not all.) This place is an experience though, grab a slice, have some spumoni, hang out in the park. Its a nice day

Queens

Amore Pizza

3027 Stratton St, Flushing

The blue eyed wonder still makes the pizza here. and still does an amazing job at it. Very old school, good place for a regular New York Slice. Definitely one of the best on the list. The Asian lady stops me every time to try to sell me bootleg DVD’s …FYI her DVD’s are good quality if your in the market

New Park Pizzeria

15671 Crossbay Blvd, Howard Beach

Good old New Park. I love this little hole in the wall. The pizza is unique and you can expect a perfect slice every time. There is just something different and awesome about this slice.

Honorable Mention:

Brother’s Pizza

18504 Horace Harding Expy Fresh Meadows

This place has been the same for at least 20 years. Great Regular slice, no specialty slices here. The pizza is perfect every time though and I like the old school truck stop counter. You will never be disappointed here.

Staten Island

GoodFella’s Pizza

655 Rossville Ave, Staten Island

I love their regular slice but I am obsessed with their Vodka Slice prosciutto, fresh mozzarella, marinated mushrooms, peas and Vodka sauce. Staten Island is on the map, this place is King of Staten Island.

Nunzio’s Pizzaria and Restaurant

2155 Hylan Blvd, Staten Island

This is another Staten Island Staple, this place has an amazing grandma slice. This pizza is very very cheesy … like more cheese than I have ever seen on pizza. At first I was like, I don’t know about this but I loved the clumpy cheesy goodness on the thin crispy crust. Its pretty awesome.

Honorable Mention:

Joe & Pat’s Pizzeria and Restaurant

1758 Victory Blvd, Staten Island

These guys are different than the others. Its a very thin crust, I mean thin thin, like cracker thin and nice and crispy. I am not usually a super thin crust guy. But Joe and Pats have converted me. Their Calzones are some of the best I have every had but I’ll keep that to myself since this is a Pizza post.

Bronx

Trattoria Zero Otto Nove

2357 Arthur Ave

This is a full fledged restaurant but there is a pizza counter and you just have to order the margherita pizza, it is exceptionally good. The area is fun too, an Italian flea market, botanical gardens. You can make a day of it.

Full Moon Pizzeria

600 E 187th S

This is the best pizzeria in the Bronx. Especially if you like Specialty Slices. They have a topping for everyone. They make a thin crust variety but the slices are giant. You gotta love a slice of pizza that is bigger than your head.

Honorable Mention:

Patricia's Pizza

1082 Morris Park Ave

Burrata Cheese Slice? Really? I have never had one till I walked into Patricia’s…. absolutely amazing. Their regular slice is a beautiful thing too. You can’t go wrong at Patricia’s. They have good food too (Not all Pizzeria’s do)

Nassau County

Phil’s Pizzeria

820 Hicksville Rd, Massapequa

I heard so much about this place before I finally walked in. I totally expected to be disappointed (as I usually am with such strong recommendations) Also I knew going in that this was a super specialty pizza joint which is not normally my speed. The worst thing you could tell me is “I know a great pizzeria they have tons of toppings” What is it a freaken Ice Cream Shop? I like a few different options, but I don’t need 100. Well Phil’s has a good hundred and I have tried many of them, they are always fresh and flavorful. I really find this place to be amazing and I have never been disappointed and certainly label them the king of Long Island. (Toppings and all)

Iavarone cafe - Lake Success:

480 Plandome Rd, Manhasset, NY

Great selection of Pizza, everything is fresh and amazing. Its also a full Italian Deli/Grocery so you can get a lot of stuff here. The pizza is great, it used to be called the Fratelli Brothers back in the day but they re did it and Renamed it Iavarone Cafe. Its just as good. You will never be disappointed with This place.

Honorable Mention:

Taste This Pizza

3790 Merrick Rd, Seaford

The New kid on the block, I passed by and went in and was surprised the prices were so low and the pizza was awesome. That is a really good combination. The Regular slice was really great. Nice and fresh. I have been back a few times and have never been disappointed. I am actually going to try all 3 Nassau County spots all in one day and “Taste this” just might end up taking out one of the current kings of NC.

Honorable Mention Suffolk County:

The Pie

216 Main St, Port Jefferson

I really like this place. Perfect thin crust and absolutely the best thin crust on Long Island. I love the Martguerita and the Grandma Slice here. As I said I am no expert in Suffolk County but this place is out standing. ‘The Pie’ will never disappoint. The crust in perfect the sauce is great. This is close to perfection. Kind of a dumb name for a Pizzeria if you ask me, but if they keep making Pie’s like that they can call themselves whatever they like.

And The END ALL winner is …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

DiFara’s Pizza of Brooklyn

Hands down, no one is even close.

Fuhgettabouit!

Now get out there and eat!

--

--

Mugsy Russo
The city so nice they named it twice

Renaissance man, Chef, Writer and all around good guy! Still working on my plan to take over the world. www.amazon.com/Mugsy-Russo/e/B00EWLG5A2