Recently Laid Off From a Developer Job? Here’s What to Build in Your Portfolio.

Plus other actionable steps to take control and secure a new job.

Jon Middaugh
The Clever Dev

--

Photo by James Harrison on Unsplash

In the best of times, tucked somewhere in the back of our minds, we all have a quiet fear of losing our jobs. During the current uncertainty and with stories of layoffs in the news, I have been considering the question: What do I do if I get laid off?

In fact, my current position has significant uncertainty. We have gone from yearly contracts to monthly contracts. It would be foolish of me to ignore these warning signs.

This story is my research on what should be in developers’ portfolios, what developers should do to create opportunities via an online presence, and a unique spin on how to effectively network.

I am a React engineer and the portfolio recommendations below are likewise from that perspective. I also had the experience of interviewing dozens of developers in my last two roles and seeing what stands out in a portfolio.

Portfolio Phase I

I believe you should showcase your talent with a big, unified app instead of a number of small independent projects. For phase I focus on a FE app. Furthermore, make it an app that you would actually use. This gives the…

--

--

Jon Middaugh
The Clever Dev

I have been: individual contributor | tech lead | manager | JS boot camp teacher | community college instructor.