Team Member Spotlight: Beck Miller

Director of Special Projects. True Carolinian. Competitive AF.

2ULaundry
The Clothesline
Published in
2 min readMay 2, 2019

--

Where did you go to school?

I graduated from Wake Forest University. I was in the same fraternity as Alex (2ULaundry’s cofounder & CEO!), but in the year below.

Outside of knowing Alex, how did you get introduced to 2ULaundry?

It was pretty early on around August 2016, I saw Alex share a local Charlotte publication’s article on 2ULaundry. At that time, I was becoming burnt out in my job and was looking around for something new. When I saw the article, it looked like the perfect opportunity since my family’s background is actually in laundry & dry cleaning. We’ve owned a dry cleaner that’s been in the family for about 104 years.

What was your first big project after joining 2ULaundry?

I took all of the Wash, Dry, Fold processing and brought it in house. When I joined, we were outsourcing all of it, and we flipped that on its head and just started renting out laundromats and staffing it with our own employees.

If you were a 2ULaundry bag (Blue, Black, or Pink), which would you be?

That’s a hard one. Definitely either the Large Blue Bag or The Black Bag.

If you weren’t working at 2ULaundry, what would your ideal job be and where?

I’d say specifically Elements Brands or Skipper in Charlotte just because I really believe in both of their CEO’s, Bill and Meggie, and think they have very similar cultures to 2U.

What’s your favorite thing about working at 2ULaundry?

Definitely the work ethic that everyone carries with them. No one here is really a 9-to-5 person that slacks off throughout the course of the day.

What are your favorite things to do off the clock?

I’m huge into sports. I play in three different sports leagues from kickball to basketball, so anything that keeps me active. If it’s a nice Sunday, I love going to breweries with friends and taking the dogs out.

What’s something your coworkers might not know about you?

As much as I like sports, I’m a grossly over-competitive person. To the point where if we lose a game, it kind of ruins my next few hours. It could be something as casual as an adult rec league for co-ed soccer, as long as it’s a game, I get extremely competitive.

If you could be any animal, what would you be and why?

I’m gonna go with a golden retriever because I’m generally pretty happy, always down to play, and I consider myself to be a pretty loyal person.

--

--

2ULaundry
The Clothesline

Laundry and Dry Cleaning, Delivered. #TimeIsDelicate