Building resilience-focused organizations

The importance of culture, mechanisms, and tools

Adrian Hornsby
The Cloud Architect

--

“How do you build a resilience-focused organization?”

In this blog post, I aim to address this question and provide some insights into some of the strategies that I believe have proven effective for AWS.

In my view, building a resilience-focused organization requires three essential elements that are interrelated. First, cultivating the right culture is crucial. Second, having the right tools is essential. And third, establishing comprehensive mechanisms is vital. These principles are relevant to organizations of all sizes, whether they are large, medium, or small.

Before I begin, it’s important to note that the strategies I discuss are tailored to our specific organization and its unique culture. What has worked for us may not necessarily be applicable to every situation, so it’s crucial to exercise your own judgment.

Let’s begin by examining the first step: creating a Culture of Resilience.

Culture

--

--

Adrian Hornsby
The Cloud Architect

Principal System Dev Engineer @ AWS ☁️ I break stuff .. mostly. Opinions here are my own.