Chaos Engineering — What and who is a chaos engineer?

Answering questions from my webinar

Adrian Hornsby
The Cloud Architect

--

I recently did a two-hour webinar dedicated to chaos engineering and got a lot of great questions from the audience. In this mini-series of posts, I will take some time to answer them.

If you missed the webinar, you can access it on-demand from the link below. And if you have questions you would like me to address, feel free to ask me directly on Twitter :-)

These are some of the question I was asked:

Who’s the best set of people to start looking into chaos engineering in a team?
How can performance engineers drive chaos engineering ideas?
In general, whose responsibility is chaos engineering? Would this fall to the solutions architect/engineering team, a Business Continuity team, or a ‘virtual’ team that spans all teams involved in the application?

Great set of first questions! I grouped them since they are very similar to one another.

--

--

Adrian Hornsby
The Cloud Architect

Principal System Dev Engineer @ AWS ☁️ I break stuff .. mostly. Opinions here are my own.