The Story Behind DAOcaster. Master Communicator Of The Metaverse!

Andres Sutherland
The Club Guild
Published in
7 min readFeb 16, 2022

I would love to be able to communicate well, I still get anxious when I am front and center and all eyes are on me. One thing is to be able to do this behind the safety of anonymity, behind a mouse and keyboard in the safety of our homes … Rocking our pyjamas.

But there are some folks out there that thrive being out there, throwing their real life identity hand in hand with the online persona that accompanies their journey throughout the Metaverse and Star Atlas. And one of the most prominent members of the Star Atlas community of content creators, and all out subject matter experts is DAOcaster.

He gracefully allowed The CLUB family a few minutes to pick his brain when it comes to all matters related to Star Atlas, the Metaverse, NFTs etc. Please find that interview below … Enjoy!

1-Who is the person behind the DAOCaster? Tell us a bit about yourself!

Hey! I’m Tony. I’m a husband and father to 2 really cool kids. First of all, I love to educate others. I grew up really unmotivated in school due in part to some undiagnosed ADHD and just never thought I’d amount to anything academic and definitely never thought I could learn hard topics like math or science. That is, until one of my teachers helped me realize that I was smart enough to learn and understand things like science and math. So now, I love helping others realize that they aren’t too stupid either, whether that be in science, crypto, gaming, etc… More recently, I fell in love with astronomy and rocket science and am now in pursuit of my Masters in Astronomy and plan to work for NASA in the future.

2-How were you introduced to the Metaverse/NFTs?

I was first introduced to the metaverse around the same time I was becoming aware of how controlled and restricted our experience is as Americans. Everything we buy, see, consume, everything feels controlled and meant to keep us in this rat race of the American dream. Around the same time I was itching to escape it, I was told about a little P2E game called Idle Mystics. I learned how to buy crypto and NFTs the hard way, by sending hundreds of dollars to incorrect wallets and even shilling shitcoins for a hot second. Once I got a handle on how it all worked technically, I began to feel more comfortable branching out and seeking projects I liked, rather than letting them find me, cause those are the ones that’ll get you.

3- Are you in this journey for the gaming perspective? Or are you an “investor” and are running with the train for the profits it will bring?

For me, it’s a little bit of all three. I have been gaming since I could shoot a duck and jump on Bowser’s head three times. My favorite franchise is the Mass Effect series and I really dove deep into Eve Online, so Star Atlas was the perfect next step from a gamers perspective. At the same time though, I am investing a lot, I mean a lot. And I don’t mean money. I have a couple of ships, but since I don’t have much money, I invest my time. For me investing my time creating a platform of education that people find value in will be how I find ROI in this crazy wild west of a metaverse. I am investing in $POLIS as an investor, I am investing time in content creation to help others learn the game and for some eventual funding to play the game , and I am saving up for a VZUS Opod so I can have some fun in the High-risk security zone.

4-How would you convince a regular gamer, someone interested in SciFi games like Stellaris, EvE Online, Star Citizen that Star Atlas is a natural progression and something worth exploring?

I honestly wouldn’t. I don’t think the game is ready. Star Atlas is not a game yet, it’s a P2E browser mini-game for crypto enthusiasts and early supporters. This iteration wasn’t made for gamers. Once the Star Atlas team leans in more heavily to catering to the gamer, it won’t be hard to convince them. By this, I mean, once the team makes the game approachable and effortless to play without someone knowing what crypto is, then I’ll tell all of my friends. But in this first couple of years where we are bombarded with other really shitty cash grabs in P2E gaming, I don’t think the time is right yet.

5- The NFT controversy, what is your take on it? What would you say to its detractors?

I do believe that NFTs will govern all transactions in the future. I pray it is in a decentralized fashion but the powers that be are fighting to regulate and own it. The problem with NFTs today is that we are in the Gold Rush. Everyone is trying to figure out how to make money with them in flash-in-the-pan get-rich-quick schemes with really obnoxious marketing. Whether it be 2 , 5, or 10 years, time will weed out those projects and leave space for the real utility to progress and thrive. Things like tracking all transactions of food throughout its journey from farm to table, tokenizing space assets to give civilians and citizens access to ownership of data they never had before, giving artists really ownership and royalties, etc… We are really early on this. NFTs are being used to excite and scam people out of their money. Once this period passes, they’ll be seen for the revolutionary tool they are.

6- The Metaverse will be a monster that will eventually provide almost everything we have in real life. Should we be a bit scared about that? How do you recommend we approach it in a responsible way?

I like this question a lot. Mostly, because I worry about the same thing and don’t have an exact answer. We’ve seen the metaverse take over in worlds like Ready Player One and Black Mirror. I hope and pray that we never come to those worlds, but I also think it has a lot to do with who controls it. If the people end up controlling it, I imagine they’ll keep it truly decentralized and allow it to feed or enrich our daily life. Allowing people to own the metaverse could theoretically decrease the wealth gap and actually give us the freedom to enjoy life without the headset. But if centralized powers control the metaverse, I fear it will become yet another means to control the masses and keep us fighting for our lives in this corporate hell hole. There is no more intriguing lore than what we’ll find in the Ustur faction. While I am torn and think the ONI faction will be reeeeeeally really fun to play, it’s gonna be Ustur for me.

8-In your opinion what impact will guilds have in Star Atlas? Bigger guilds have an advantage? Are you interested in being part of one?

Guilds will be HUGE. If you want to find success in battle and in business, I think being a part of a large guild will be massively advantageous. However, the Star Atlas team has said that the game will be playable and enjoyable for individual gamers as well. I think they are right. I still had a blast playing EVE Online by myself.

In regards to me joining one… As a content creator, and more importantly an educator, it is my responsibility to educate without bias. I do not have a faction of choice and have decided not to align with one so long as I am making content and influencing the way people play. My goal is to become one of the most trusted educational channels in the metaverse, and I don’t think I can provide a fair and equitable experience for all players if I am loyal to only one guild.

9-What is your favorite SciFi movie and novel?

Novel: 2001: A Space Odyssey

Trilogy: Foundation

Movie: Interstellar

Shows: Battlestar Galactica & Lost in Space (the new one)

10- In Star Atlas there will be the possibility of having jobs, and to sustain to some extent yourself as part of the metaverse. What will your profession be when the game is released?

I’d like to be an educator, explorer, and maybe a data runner. I want to explore deep space. Call me the Interstellar Indiana Jones.

11- Share with us some final thoughts for the community of The CLUB! It was great to be able to connect with you thanks for your time!

First, I’d like to say that coming from being a science communicator, I feel so warmly welcomed into this new Star Atlas community. This has become my main and favorite project, While Star Atlas will always be my home, I think I will really enjoy creating content for other projects, growing a larger audience, and bringing them all to the Star Atlas metaverse. I have some really epic projects in production that are going to help everyone in the Star Atlas community and I can’t wait to share them with you all!

DAOcaster’s Star Atlas walkthrough on youtube

Learn More about DAOcaster:
Youtube
Twitter

Learn More about The Club:
Discord
Twitter
Promo Trailer
Youtube
Explorer App
Discourse

--

--