Andres Sutherland
The Club Guild
Published in
5 min readFeb 8, 2022

--

Theorising The Metaverse with Atlas Theory.

Star Atlas logo used on their official trailer

We live in a world in which everyone has an opinion, and most of the time said opinion comes without the level of expertise to back it up efficiently, and to make it hold its ground against the endless waves of feedback from the virtual world.

And very few subjects stir passion, opinions, “facts”, detractors and supporters as the upcoming Metaverse & NFTs. Within this realm you will find a desert full of folks looking forward to it, and an ocean of people against it and Star Atlas as a new offering stands in the middle of it all thanks to its boldness, epic objectives and mind shattering vision of integration with the real world.

In order to understand all of this there are very few people as able to guide us through it all than our friend, Atlas Theory, an incredible and knowledgeable person who has shared some time of his busy agenda to chat with us.

Here is what transpired during that chat:

Tell our family from The CLUB a little about yourself, where are you from and what you life has been so far:

Hey guys! My name is Aaron but I go by Atlas Theory here in the metaverse. I am currently living in Norway but I was born and raised in Denver, Colorado. I always had a passion for creation and entertainment which eventually led me to the Colorado Film School. After school, I went in a completely different direction with my life and ended up teaching English in China. I bounced back and forth between the U.S. and China for many years before returning to my entertainment roots. With the help of the upload button on YouTube, I was able to build a brand and grow an audience. This became my full-time gig for many years before it was time to end. Now, a few years later, the passion for creation returned with the discovery of Star Atlas. It is my goal to build this into a career and discover all Star Atlas and the metaverse have to offer.

Have you been into SciFi all your life? What is your favorite genre when it comes to a story?

I have been into Sci Fi for as long as I can remember. From watching Star Wars with my dad to SciFi Literature class in high school, the genre has always grabbed my sense of wonder. While SciFi and Fantasy rank near the top of my favorite genre list, Drama will always reign supreme. I like the stories of flawed people just trying to find meaning.

I assume crypto and its ever changing universe brought you to Star Atlas, how you found out about this awesome effort?

Like many, I found out about the Star Atlas project through YouTube. However, when most people describe that experience they usually say the same thing — that it was “their dream game.” I like to think we all discovered Star Atlas in a sub-conscience way. Thank god, Michael dreamed it up and brought it to reality.

You have a favorite faction from the Star Atlas lore? If so why?

Even though I am drawn to the Ustur, I have to give the lore to ONI. The story of Paizul from the meta posters got me super invested in the story.

I believe Star Atlas will unite people from all over the world, and will allow us to get closer than ever. Would you like real world issues to be addressed in the game?

I think it would be a good opportunity for real world issues to be in the game. I am constantly meeting people from different parts of the world. I am learning about how they live and what they think. If the Star Atlas game can help spark these conversations, it will help us all understand each other a little more.

Do you have a personal opinion about NFTs and the controversy behind those?

NFTs/Proof of Ownership is essential for the metaverse and the coming age. I do believe a vast majority of the current projects won’t last, even the good ones. As with any new technology, there will be people who exploit it for their personal gain. But that doesn’t change the fact that NFTs will change gaming and a large percentage of our lives.

Star Atlas: Showroom concept

Do you believe in the ultimate vision of a metaverse?

I don’t just believe in the ultimate vision of the metaverse, I see it everyday. From NFT profile pictures to fun camera filters, people are interacting with AR and integrating it into their daily life. We are already living in the first version of the metaverse. From here, things just get more integrated and more advanced.

What is your favorite SciFi movie?

My favorite SciFi movie, and favorite movie period, is The Fountain. It was released in 2006 and directed by Darren Aronofsky.

Where do you see Star Atlas in 5 years?

In five years, I see Star Atlas as a thriving game with a large fanbase. There are conventions around the world and we all travel to see our friends and DAC members. I think more of the metaverse aspects of the game will be released more and more during this time. I can’t wait.

What do you say to those doubting Star Atlas as a project?

There is not much you can say to convince most of the people who just shout “scam.” But to those who research and come to me with actual concerns, I take the time to answer any questions they have. I usually try to urge them to adopt a long-term perspective on Star Atlas and the crypto gaming space. For most of us, it doesn’t matter what $ATLAS and $POLIS do today, next week or three years from now. We know the vision of the Star Atlas team and we work hard to help them accomplish it.

Star Atlas: Exo-skeleton concept

Learn More about Atlas Theory:
Atlas Theory Twitter
Atlas Theory Youtube

Learn More about The Club Guild:
Discord
Youtube
Twitter
Promo Trailer
Explorer App
Discourse

--

--