Missionary Life

A Moment’s Moan

How complaining to God is sometimes for the best

Justin Marsh
THE CO-MISSION

--

I love living in Asia. I also try to avoid presenting myself as a stereotypical, “suffering martyr”. However, every now and then I have a bit of a moan.

Generated via Canva.com

The following is a message I sent over WhatsApp to my parents:

If you couldn’t be bothered to read that, don’t worry. I don’t think my parents did either. Here are some of the subjects I ranted about:

  • insects
  • insect repellent
  • accidentally bleaching my trousers
  • dust
  • having to filter the water
  • not being able to eat salad
  • the smelly stream near my house
  • the terrible roads
  • ants invading any post or packages
  • melting chocolate
  • heat damaging my iPhone battery
  • sweaty cups of tea
  • hot and humid bathrooms

There are other things, but that’s just what I included in my rant.

I am so incredibly lucky to be in Asia. The country I live in is beautiful. The people are incredible. There are such amazing things to be grateful for. Every day is filled with such blessings.

But there will be moments when you just need to vent. What’s interesting is that the Bible is full of people moaning.

Moses the Moaner

Moses complains quite a few times. At the end of Exodus 5, he asks God why He is causing trouble for the Israelites.

Then, in Numbers 11, he’s had just about enough of the Israelites. Moses says to God,

“Why have you brought this trouble on your servant? What have I done to displease you that you put the burden of all these people on me? Did I conceive all these people? Did I give them birth? Why do you tell me to carry them in my arms, as a nurse carries an infant, to the land you promised on oath to their ancestors?” (Numbers 11:11–12, NIVUK)

As a country leader of a team, I related too much to this passage. Sometimes the responsibility feels too hard.

Probing Job

Job asks questions of God and he complains to God. He asks God in Job 3 why God would let people go on living in misery.

In chapter 24, Job accuses God of being unjust. Job basically says that the good people suffer and no one has to pay for it. At the same time, bad people get wealthy and live an easy life.

I wonder how many of us have seen injustice and the suffering of others and had the same questions and complaints to God?

David the Downer

David’s psalms are really honest about his feelings: positive or negative. He constantly asks God why God has let something happen or how long God is going to allow it.

So many psalms directly reference David’s complaints. Such as this one:

I pour out before him my complaint; before him I tell my trouble. (Psalm 142:2, NIV)

And this one:

When I was in distress, I sought the Lord; at night I stretched out untiring hands, and I would not be comforted. (Psalm 77:2, NIV)

And another:

Attend to me, and hear me; I am restless in my complaint, and moan noisily (Psalm 55:2, NKJV)

Elijah’s Reminder

In 1 Kings 19, Elijah runs away and gets very hungry and tired. First, God provides Elijah with food and a nap.

Elijah complains that he has served God, but the Israelites refuse to follow God. Then, Elijah claims that he is the only one left who serves God in Israel.

God reminds him that this is not the case.

In fact, 7,000 people still follow God in Israel. 7,000 is considerably more than 1.

We can moan too

If all these moments of moaning make their way into the Bible, then I think it is okay to do it.

All these complaints lead them to know God better and give the people an opportunity to understand God’s heart. And their situations are made better:

  • God helped Moses delegate.
  • Job had an actual conversation with God where God answered him.
  • David’s psalms of complaint often ended in praise.
  • Elijah was reminded that God was in control.

So if you want

  • God’s help in a situation
  • God to answer your questions
  • To come to a place of praise
  • To remember God is in control

Then a good moan might be exactly what is needed.

Justin Marsh is a missionary who has served in Asia for over six years. He is the country leader of a team of missionaries and has just completed an MA that looks at missional practice. Whilst his team works within a range of contexts across the country, Justin’s focus is the Muslim minority groups. He is the owner of the publication THE CO-MISSION.

--

--

Justin Marsh
THE CO-MISSION

A fake name but a real missionary somewhere in Asia. Often confused. Serving Jesus. Desiring that Jesus is known across the world.