Allergic to Passion

STOP using “passionate” to describe inane interests for professional purposes. Just stop. Please.

Yana Yevsiyevich
THE Co.
4 min readJan 14, 2018

--

I am allergic to the modern usage of the term “passionate”.

Etymologically, the term passion is derived from Late Latin (pre-10th Century) passionem (nominative passio) “suffering, enduring,” from the past participle stem of Latin pati “to endure, undergo, experience.” In fact, the term has roots in the “suffering of Christ on the cross” from the Old French passion “Christ’s passion, physical suffering.”

The term passionate originates from medieval Latin passionatus “full of passion” and, through late Middle English, it begins association with the notion of “arising from intense feelings of sexual love.”

That is quite a loaded and intense history.

Now, however, we must suffer and endure the comically absurd bastardisation of this term; such that it, ironically, strips the term of its original power.

You’ve all heard it. You’ve perhaps even been the unwitting culprit.

Yah. Like, I’m super passionate about dog walking.

Definitely! I’m so passionate about sales!

Yes, I’m very passionate about helping others succeed.

I’m passionate about administration and organising files.

No way! I’m very passionate about working with other humans too!

Actually, I’m passionate about the law.

My real passion is hair.

No. It. Is. Not. And if it is, we need to have a different type of conversation, friend.

I know, Ryan. I know. I’m upset about it too.

OhsweetbabyMoses if I hear another Millenial say that they are passionate about brewing coffee, with that idiotic grin on their face, I will Hulk smash.

That’s not Loki that Hulk is smashing. It’s a Millenial who just told Hulk about his passion for brewing coffee.

Please don’t misunderstand me. Linguistically, terms evolve over time and it would be unrealistic and silly to think that the historical version of the terms would be appropriate today. Of course, it wouldn’t nor should it. Whilst it’s interesting to note the etymology of the term and its link to the narrative of Christ, the religious roots need no longer apply (necessarily). However, we can divorce the religious meaning of the term without losing its power; and it is quite a powerful term. It denotes nearly uncontrollable emotion and intensity. To use this word to describe one’s interest in Derivatives Trading or cutting people’s hair is obscene. Stop it.

For the term to be so unceremoniously ripped from any shred of its dignity and used to describe hobbies/interests more mundane than grass growing … well, that’s just unacceptable. I certainly don’t doubt the person enjoys or finds gratifying or is even obsessed with the issue they’re referring to — but passionate? No. Passion and the mundane are not friends.

Using the term passion whilst referring to personal or professional pursuits lacks creativity, honesty and a modicum of common sense.

Here are some alternatives:

Yah. Like, I really enjoy dog walking.

Definitely! I find sales both challenging and exciting!

Yes, I find helping others succeed gratifying.

My OCD makes administration and organising files a complete delight [side-note: this is actually true for me].

No way! I’m a big fan of working with other humans too!

Actually, I’m dedicated to ensuring the law works for all.

I bloody love doing people’s hair.

Hearing these, I would have much more respect for a person’s accuracy in detailing their interests.

So please, I beg you, next time you reach for the word passion, think carefully. Let’s leave the term passionate for that which elicits a truly extraordinary emotional/behavioural response.

If any of this resonated with you, give a girl a slamming high five. It’s always comforting to know when one person’s crazy matches another. Or join me in the Twitterverse!

--

--

Yana Yevsiyevich
THE Co.

Aspiring human | Aspiring coder & writer | Aspiring towards freedom |