52 Good Things from 2020

The 14th year of my annual gratitude practice, now spanning 730 good things.

Tony Stubblebine
The Coach Life
Published in
11 min readFeb 16, 2021

--

What a year for gratitude! 2020 was the COVID year. (Or was it the first of the two COVID years, plural?) In any case, there were headwinds!

And yet, I have plenty of gratitude. I mean, obviously, it was a horrific year. But I’m taking a Stoic approach — control what I can control.

When I started this gratitude practice in 2007, I was stressed, trying to figure out how to be an entrepreneur and not at all confident that I was on a path that would work out. So I started trying to balance that stress and worry by collecting things that happened to me that I was grateful for, aiming for 52 of these per year. These good things are a measure of my life’s direction.

I committed to myself that if I couldn’t find an honest 52 that I’d give up my entrepreneurial dreams. (So far I haven’t had to do that.)

Here are my prior lists:
2015–2019, 2013–15, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, and 2007.

Managing Shelter-in-place. Knock on wood.

Well, let’s just start with the obvious. Sarah and I were sheltered, for the most part, in our NYC apartment with our dog, Eloise.

  1. Health. No one in my immediate family caught the virus. We all kept our jobs. There were no family tensions about how to stay safe. Knock on wood. I hope this…

--

--