You might feel like you’re sitting alone, but you aren’t.

Gameday

amanda gilliland
The Coaching life
Published in
3 min readAug 31, 2018

--

Maybe it was due to lack of sleep. Maybe I hadn’t had enough breakfast. I woke up with a headache. I was so hungry that, for the first time in a long time, I was having a full audible conversation with my loudly growling stomach. I was jittery from the inside out. Shivers and shaking distracted me from being able to remind myself to take a breath and relax. My whole day was the same as any other day except for that one tiny detail I seemed to be physically trying to avoid — it was Gameday. GAMEDAY.

Gameday is a day for cheering, tailgating, catching up with friends over a common joy in life. People buy tickets and decide to go and do all the things Gameday, but, my Gameday isn’t ever a normal day like it is for regular fans. Why? Well, I’m the coach’s wife.

You may say that I can have fun too. I can catch up with old friends. I can experience joy. You are RIGHT. I can do all of that and more. I just have this extra little label that changes how I experience Gameday.

All day my mind is racing with a highlight reel of things impacted by this tiny little thing called Gameday: I see the players and worry about them staying healthy and safe. I see my family being financially supported by this game which means wins are necessary to keep eating and living in this town. I see the fans who know me looking at me sympathetically or patting my shoulder as they pass by when the score is too close for comfort or after the other team makes a big play. I see myself being on the edge of my seat, hands clasped, propping up my chin. I see my coach pacing. My mind runs through all the scenarios of winning and losing. I see how helpless I can feel — I care so much but can only sit back and watch the outcome.

And then I go to the game. We get great food and drinks and music. Gameday is fun and sometimes REALLY delicious (especially since that pit in your stomach has been begging for a whole pizza ALL DAY). A big play brings the crowd up on their feet, we all begin to cheer, and we join together to celebrate. Gameday does bring joy. I come together with the sisterhood of wives I have. Sometimes that isn’t always possible depending on where your team is, but my sisters on Gameday keep me feeling normal. I don’t feel like I’m out of place and I know I’m not alone in my crazy feelings, and I don’t even limit this to the women in seats next to me. Fellow coaching wives and I exchange texts before and after games cheering each other on, congratulating each other on a win, or encouraging each other after a loss because we ALL understand. Gameday is for catching up and enjoying one another.

Maybe I am a lot like a regular fan on Gameday. I get to enjoy people, cheer and dance and eat, and most of all I get to be part of something bigger than me that eventually comes together and cheers on the common hope — that of our team winning the game.

Even after all the avoidance and physical stress, I’ll still say it. I LOVE Gameday.

--

--