Foxing’s ‘Nearer My God’ is the Best Song of 2018

Haunting lyrics and beautiful delivery elevate this song above the rest of this year’s contenders

Thomas Jenkins
The Coastline is Quiet
5 min readDec 3, 2018

--

Foxing/Triple Crown

I have always enjoyed listening to Foxing, but I have to admit that I sometimes find their music a little slow. The melodies are usually interesting and the lyrics thoughtful, but extended track times often dissuade me from listening to them as much as other bands I like. With this caveat out of the way, I greatly enjoyed listening to their newest album, Nearer My God. As good as this album is, though, its title track is even better, and is easily the best song of 2018.

From both a lyrical and music perspective, “Nearer My God” the song is close to perfect. There’s a driving sense of anxiety and uncertainty that drives it forward, underscored by lyrics that fit each moment perfectly (which I’ll explain in greater detail below). Whether I’m driving, running, or doing nearly anything else, I’ve found myself returning to this song every few days since I discovered it earlier this fall.

The Album

Nearer My God is Foxing’s third album, released in mid August. Following on the heels of two generally well-received efforts, this collection of songs has continued to elevate the band’s profile. Musically, it’s slightly more diverse than their earlier offerings, producing songs that generally move faster and hit a little harder than those on Albatross or Dealer. There are plenty of calm moments throughout, but I’d describe the overall tone as “unsettling,” or “nervous.” Those words may not be particularly alluring for many listeners, but the skill with which Foxing executes this vision is impressive.

Lyrically, there’s plenty to uncover on every track. Many of the songs are difficult to interpret, but there are references to the sinking of the Titanic, desperate attempts at fame, and general uneasiness. In an interview with DIY Mag, Singer Conor Murphy said “We’re not politically savvy people. We don’t have any real solutions to offer. So rather than writing a record where we’re speaking specifically about what is happening in the world, we realised the best way to channel all that is to speak about what it feels like to live in a time like this.” The songs begin to make a little more sense after this — Foxing isn’t writing about one specific moment, but about the emotions and feelings that rise out of many of them.

Put together, the music and lyrics create a beautiful whole. I still haven’t listened to the album from beginning to end more than a handful of times (partly because I think it has some pacing issues), but I can’t deny its overall quality. Other writers largely feel the same way. A staff writer for Sputnikmusic gave the album a perfect score, praising the songwriting extensively, and there are plenty of other positive reactions from other sites.

The Song

Putting the strengths of the album aside, its title track easily the best song I’ve heard in 2018, and one of my favorites of all time. This is the kind of song that I have to force myself to stop listening to, lest I get sick of it; the kind of song that I want to put on every playlist; the kind of song that reminds me why I love music. “Nearer My God” is hauntingly beautiful, and I’ll do my best to describe why in the next few paragraphs.

As best I can tell, the lyrics are a self-reflection on the band’s existence and their careers. Murphy opens the track by yelling “I want it all,” continuing, just a few lines later, with “Cause I’d sell my soul/To be America’s pool boy/The crown centerfold/My few good years left, a tribute/To anyone who wants me at all/Does anybody want me at all?/Oh, do you want me at all?” Set against a piercing backdrop of music that I can only describe as haunting, Murphy’s desperation and anxiety are almost palpable.

What must it feel like to dedicate one’s life to learning a craft (in this case music) only to question these decisions a few years in? What kind of anguish must rise out of years devoted writing and singing, followed by this kind of uncertainty? I’m not musically inclined, but I can only imagine that this feeling must be crippling. After hearing this song a few times, I admire the honestly and openness that led to its creation.

Lyrical brilliance aside, the specific ways that the music’s climactic moments fit with the lyrics is the final ingredient to this song. After Murphy asks “Do you want me at all?” multiple times, the background music swells into a piercing crescendo that divides the first half of the song from the second and is one of the most impressive musical moments I have ever experienced. When Murphy’s voice enters the track again a few measures later, the lyrics flip from wanting musical fame to poking holes in the very vision that he longed after moments before. “I’ve got it all,” he sings, sounding no happier than before.

At just a few minutes long, this song still feels emotionally exhausting. It’s clear that it took a tremendous amount of courage and work to put these lyrics and notes together, and the end result — when listened to closely — conveys these elements well. It may not be the most accessible song, or the easiest to listen to, but the value and beauty here can’t be missed.

Of course, actually listening to music is always a better indication of a song’s strength than reading a written description, so I hope anyone who took the time to read this post will do so. I’m still listening to the entire album, uncovering songs that I passed over before and finding new moments of lyrics brilliance. Nearer My God is an unsettling album, and not one that I’d choose to listen to on the best of days. Sometimes we need this kind of music, though, and I know the title track of this collection is one of the best musical projects I’ve ever found.

--

--