SteamWorld Quest is a Joyful Triumph

Image & Form continue to push their delightful series to new heights

Thomas Jenkins
The Coastline is Quiet
4 min readMay 16, 2019

--

Image & Form

SteamWorld Quest, which came out on April 25, is a fantastic game. It’s a card-based RPG that builds on the success of radically different titles in the SteamWorld series. After the succes of SteamWorld Dig, SteamWorld Heist, and SteamWorld Dig 2, developer Image & Form have cemented themselves as one of the premier indie studios in the industry.

Quest sets itself apart from Image & Form’s earlier titles with its card-based RPG gameplay, a far cry from the action sequences of the Dig games and the tactics gunplay of Heist. Even so, it clearly builds on what made those earlier games great to create a game that feels somehow new and familiar at the same time. In other words, this game is an absolute treat and anyone who’s looking for something new should check it out.

Below, I’ll explain why I love it so much.

What’s New

Quest adds RPG mechanics and card-based combat to the SteamWorld series, excelling in both areas. The game’s battle system is intricate and entertaining — it’s somehow easy enough for people to pick up easily, but with a complexity that will keep players’ attention to the end. This style of gameplay is completely new to the SteamWorld line, as is the fantasy setting it takes place in, but Quest feels like it was crafted by veterans instead of people just now branching out into the genre.

So far, all the reviews I’ve seen have praised the game. Kotaku’s Ethan Gach wrote, “In the hundreds of battles I’ve had in SteamWorld Quest, no turn in any of them was ever the same. Even now there are strategies and builds I still want to go back and try, despite having already exhausted most of the dungeons.” So far, even though I’ve played far fewer hours than Gach, I feel the same way. There’s an almost endless capacity for experimentation and tinkering with cards.

Interestingly, even though the game depends on cards for each battle, I always feel fully in control, and never limited by the options drawn out of my deck. Each character can pick eight cards for use at any one time, which are drawn randomly and recycled through each battle. It’s extremely rare for a “poor” draw to make me feel limited in any way, especially since I have so much control of what’s actually in the deck at any given time. If I don’t like the cards I have, I can simply switch them out and try something new next time.

Most of all, Quest deserves praise for being a dense, meaty experience that deserves players’ time and attention. The game mixes new cards and abilities in at a steady, but palatable rate, and there’s almost always something new to experiment with after each major battle. As I continue to unlock new characters, it’s a blast to try out new lineups to find the best combinations for taking down different enemies. I still have plenty of game left, but I don’t want it to end.

What SteamWorld Quest builds on

Quest builds on the cheerful atmosphere, witty dialog, and great music of the previous SteamWorld games. The plot of the game itself is pretty light, but it’s delivered through cheeky lines of dialog between characters that are genuinely interesting and seem happy to be around each other. It isn’t Rockstar or Naughty Dog world-building, but it’s charming, engaging, and fun to experience. In other words, it’s a world I love to be in.

Image & Form didn’t need this game to solidify their reputation — the Dig games and Heist were more than enough. However, Quest is another impressive step forward, a showcase of how these developers can seemingly tackle any genre of game with success.

By my rough calculations, I’m about halfway through Quest. I can’t wait to experience the rest of it, but I also hope I can draw it out as long as possible. It’s easily my favorite game of 2019 so far.

The views expressed are mine alone and do not represent the views of my employer or any other person or organization.

--

--