Three books I can’t wait to read in April

Thomas Jenkins
The Coastline is Quiet
5 min readApr 6, 2022

Why three novels scheduled to release this month have me feeling less patient than usual

I don’t usually wait for book releases with bated breath. The world of books is so large that — to me at least — buying a book right when it comes out seems like something less than the best use of my money when I could just wait and read it later. Perhaps libraries have spoiled me, or perhaps I’m rebelling against the pricing guidelines of the publishing industry. In any case, my preferred means of book acquisition is either waiting on a Kindle sale, renting from a library, or buying from a used bookstore.

This month however, there are three books coming out that I don’t really want to wait on. I may not end up buying them all at once because I’m a slow reader and it will take me some time to get through them all. But I’m compelled to read each one as soon as I’m able, so here they are presented below in order of release date:

The Hunger of the Gods — John Gwynne (releases April 12)

Orbit Books

This book is on one hand pretty standard fantasy fare. It follows a collection of protagonists whose paths intersect to varying degrees as they progress through a heavily Norse-inspired world. One of the book’s unique twists is that some people are descended from dead gods and boast powerful skills through their lineage. However, instead of sitting at the top of the social hierarchy, these individuals are at the bottom, reviled and often enslaved by the rest of civilization. It’s certainly an engaging plot, but nothing world-shattering.

However, while the tone of the book isn’t especially new or different from the rest of its broader genre, I’m struck by Gwynne’s skill as an author. All of the characters are compelling and the action is delivered in vivid detail. This is a book that I’m excited to read because I’m confident the story will be told well. And in many ways, the execution of a narrative is its most important attribute.

The Hunger of the Gods is the direct sequel to The Shadow of the Gods, one of my favorite books from 2021. I always love when a sequel comes out roughly a year after the first because the characters are fresh in my mind and I don’t have to backtrack to remind myself of the plot. I’m excited to see where this planned trilogy goes, but I’m even more excited to pick back up with the cliffhangers and last-page revelations of Shadow.

Sea of Tranquility — Emily St. John Mandel (releases April 19)

This novel is on my list of April book primarily because HBO’s excellent adaptation of Mandel’s Station Eleven reminded me what an excellent author she was. Station Eleven is an all-time-great book, and that was the case even before the 2020 pandemic made its setting so topical. I was slightly less enthused about The Glass Hotel (Mandel’s most recent novel), but I’m starting to wonder if I should go back and give it another try. I can’t deny that it was at least beautifully written.

From what I’ve read so far, Sea of Tranquility is another book about a pandemic that ties in heavier science fiction elements than Mandel’s other work. Honestly though, I’m less interested in the exact details of the plot and more interested to read some fiction that I can be pretty confident will be beautifully written. Station Eleven was an excellent novel because of the stories about humans it told. I expect Sea of Tranquility to be a similar exercise.

Early reviews have been largely positive. NPR’s Natalie Zutter wrote of the book, “Mandel demonstrates yet again her talent for balancing an ensemble cast, with even the briefest of interludes making each character sympathetic and memorable, like strangers encountered at a party even if never seen again. Laird Hunt wrote for the New York Times, “In “Sea of Tranquility,” Mandel offers one of her finest novels and one of her most satisfying forays into the arena of speculative fiction yet, but it is her ability to convincingly inhabit the ordinary, and her ability to project a sustaining acknowledgment of beauty, that sets the novel apart.”

Eyes of the Void — Adrian Tchaikovsky (releases April 28)

If I had to pick between these three books, Eyes of the Void is probably the one I’m most excited about. It’s part two of a planned trilogy and a direct sequel to Shards of Earth, which is probably the best book I’ve read so far in 2021. Out of all the reasons I’m looking forward to this one (and there are many), the chance to read more about this imagined universe and its specific characters is at the top.

My best pitch for this trilogy is that it has the depth and stakes of the Mass Effect trilogy of games (which are masterclasses in narrative in any medium) told through the lenses of interesting and sympathetic characters. I’ve written about some of Tchaikovsky’s work before and had largely positive things to say, but I think this new, in-progress trilogy is easily his best work yet. Shards of Earth struck that rare balance between building a hugely complex world and still telling an interesting story within it.

I don’t want to describe Shards of Earth too much more because it’s pretty plot dependent and there are some huge revelations within it. So I’ll leave things here: the first book of the trilogy set the bar incredibly high, but I have no doubt that the story will continue to develop in intriguing ways once Eyes of the Void comes out.

Notes:

  • I’ve really been on a fantasy/science fiction/speculative fiction kick over the last few years. This list helps solidify that, but I’ve also been trying to read more history and theology too.
  • It isn’t a book, but I’ve extremely excited for the Obi-Wan Kenobi show scheduled to come out in late May. The Book of Boba Fett was a weird mixed bag, but hopefully Disney’s latest Star Wars series will bring a little more consistency.

The views expressed are mine alone and do not represent the views of my employer or any other person or organization.

--

--