The Truth About using Oat Milk as Creamer.

Riane Tyler
The Coffee Mic
Published in
3 min readJun 3, 2022

--

No two brands give the same result.

Photo by Madalyn Cox on Unsplash

I thought I could use the same oat milk for my cereal and coffee. I was wrong.

There are many reasons why folks are finding non-dairy alternatives. Here are some reasons folks are seeking Oat milk specifically:

  • Some folks have nut allergies (and cannot have almond milk/beverage)
  • Some folks are soy-sensitive
  • Sometimes it is a gluten thing

As for me, I choose not to consume too much dairy because of what it does for my congestion. I cut it out as often as I can. However, I still love cheese, ice cream, and the occasional Alfredo pasta. *chefs kiss*

Oat milk: Too watery.

The kind of oat milk I use to eat cereal with doesn’t work as well with coffee. Think of the difference between using regular dairy milk versus half & half in your coffee. It’s like that. Choosing the right Oat beverage product can make all the difference. Regular Oat Milk will not change the color of your brew because its consistency is too thin. Put more water in the cup, you’ll get similar results. Sometimes it looks like it curds (I don’t think it can curd, but it's a weird thing to see.)

Oat milk does little to nothing for the taste.

--

--

Riane Tyler
The Coffee Mic

Devyn’s Mom. Entrepreneur, Adventure Coach, Scuba Diving Instructor, Podcaster, Writer, Yogi. Available for speaking engagements. Rianetyler.com