14 ‘Alice in Wonderland’ Drawings

Garance Coggins
The Coffeelicious
Published in
3 min readMay 29, 2016

--

In my spare time I love to draw.

Once or twice she had peeped into the book her sister was reading, but it had no pictures or conversations in it, “and what is the use of a book,” thought Alice, “without pictures or conversations?”

For a month and a half, I have illustrated Alice in Wonderland. In a café, on the corner of a dining table or during a lunch break…

They’ve all been made directly with a bic pen, and took me between 20 minutes to several hours to complete. They’re spontaneous drawings based on my re-reading of the text.

Hope you enjoy them! If you do — or don’t!, I’d love to know about it.

“Oh dear! I shall be too late!” But when the Rabbit actually took a watch out of its waistcoat-pocket and looked at it and then hurried on, Alice started to her feet, for it flashed across her mind that she had never before seen a rabbit with either a waistcoat-pocket, or a watch to take out of it, and, burning with curiosity, she ran across the field after it and was just in time to see it pop down a large rabbit-hole, under the hedge.
Down, down, down! Would the fall never come to an end?
There were doors all ‘round the hall, but they were all locked; and when Alice had been all the way down one side and up the other, trying every door, she walked sadly down the middle, wondering how she was ever to get out again.
“Well, I’ll eat it,” said Alice, “and if it makes me grow larger, I can reach the key; and if it makes me grow smaller, I can creep under the door: so either way I’ll get into the garden, and I don’t care which happens!”
“O Mouse, do you know the way out of this pool?
At last the Mouse, who seemed to be a person of some authority among them, called out, “Sit down, all of you, and listen to me!
“What do you mean by that?” said the Caterpillar, sternly. “Explain yourself!”
“Oh you can’t help that,” said the Cat.; “we’re all mad here.”
“I didn’t know that Cheshire-Cats always grinned; in fact, I didn’t know that cats could grin,” said Alice.
“Take some more tea,” the March Hare said to Alice, very earnestly.
Just as she said this, she noticed that one of the trees had a door leading right into it.
“Can you play croquet?” shouted the Queen.
“Give your evidence,” said the King, “and don’t be nervous, or I’ll have you executed on the spot.”

Join the monthly illustration challenge

I’ve always fancied the idea to draw inside of books. But the margins where always too tight to draw anything fun.

Now there’s this reading app that allows you to post annotations in the margins of your ebooks. It’s named glose.com and I love it (I happen to work for the startup that powers it, but honestly the product is just great. Give it a try). You can post all of the drawings directly in the margins and they just become part of the ebook.

I’m planning to set up a monthly book illustration challenge (need to shake myself up!). If you’d like to join, I’d be delighted to greet you in the reading group I’ve created in this purpose. Just ask me and I’ll add you to the group.

You can find me on Twitter and Instagram

--

--