20 Questions with Madeline Pendleton founder of @shoptunnelvision

Kat Coffe
The Coffeelicious
Published in
13 min readJul 9, 2019

--

I discovered Madeline on Instagram when an emotional post on how her boyfriend Drew Bernstein had committed suicide popped up in my feed. It was dramatic, tragic, and immediately sucked me in. Stumbling upon this internet drama lead me to so many questions. Why was a 51-year-old Rick Owens look alike dating this 28-year-old woman? Why did he commit suicide? What exactly is this Tunnel Vision? Who is this Madeline person?

Through years of following since 2014, I have seen Madeline’s style evolve from goth to rock grunge to wild vintage. She’s not just an Instagram babe however, she’s a business owner and she was nice enough to take the time to answer my 20 questions.

On your Instagram, you are very outspoken about your battle with fashion copycats. Is this still a problem and if so, how can it be solved?

As fast fashion becomes increasingly the norm, I think that knock-offs and copycats will continue to be the biggest issues creatives face.

I can accept the inevitability of a copied item, but the things that are hardest for me to reconcile are the increasingly fast turnaround of copycats on…

--

--

Kat Coffe
The Coffeelicious

Covering the underground scene since 2013. Check out my poetry book “28–29”: https://au.blurb.com/b/8268703-28-29?ebook=642778