20 Shades of Freedom

Freedom is to choose Joy

Valeriano Donzelli (Vale)
The Coffeelicious
3 min readFeb 24, 2017

--

Freedom is saying “I love you” without the need of hearing it back.

Freedom is being at peace with the unacceptable.

Freedom is to say no when your boundaries are being crossed.

Freedom is forgiving the unforgivable.

Freedom is being present.

Freedom is to feel unbounded. No matter where you are.

“I poke and you get irritable; I insult you and you react with pride and anger; I slip on a banana peel and …”. He took two steps away from me and slipped, landing with a thud on the rug. I couldn’t hold it in. I bellowed.

He sat up on the floor and turned to face me, making a final point. “Your feelings and reactions, Dan, are automatic and predictable; mine are not. I create my life spontaneously; yours is determined by your thoughts, your emotions, your past.”

(Dan Millman, Way of the Peaceful Warrior)

Freedom is sharing your story without the fear of being judged, while knowing you WILL be judged.

Freedom is absence of thoughts.

Freedom is the capability to embrace challenging circumstances and see the lesson in those too.

Freedom is to consciously use imagination for small and big purposes.

Freedom is to choose from a state of stillness.

Freedom is releasing the world from the burden of meeting your expectations.

“Everything can be taken from a man but one thing: the last of the human freedoms — to choose one’s attitude in any given set of circumstances, to choose one’s own way.”

“When we are no longer able to change a situation, we are challenged to change ourselves.”

(Viktor E. Frankl, Man’s Search for Meaning)

Freedom is not expecting approval for being who you are.

Freedom is being comfortable with not knowing.

Freedom is to tell your honest opinion and not feel emotionally threatened by the reaction it may generate.

Freedom is to respond with love to hate.

Freedom is the ability to suspend your judgement.

Freedom is to choose Joy.

What is Freedom to you?

Vale, February 2017

If you enjoyed reading this… I’m actually happy enough :-)
And if
you recommend it by clicking on the ❤ button below, more people will have the chance to find it. Follow me on Medium, Facebook or Twitter. You can reach me at valeriano.donzelli@gmail.com

--

--

Valeriano Donzelli (Vale)
The Coffeelicious

Storyteller | Inspirer | Leader | Peaceful Warrior. Passionate about Leadership, Communication, Human Connections, and Spiritual Life.