30 Reasons to Smile

If an old lady struggling to put cents together has reason to smile wide, so must I. So must we all.

Abhishek Khurana
The Coffeelicious

--

A couple gets ready for a picture in front of the Eiffel Tower as a wide grin appears on their faces. A moment after the camera flashes, the grin disappears and morphs into indifference, as if it was a temporary flexion of facial muscles, rather than a true expression of joy. Much too often, I’ve noticed this succession of events take place. Why does the smile disappear? And why do we need the excuse of a photo to smile wide — isn’t being at the spectacular Eiffel Tower reason enough!?

On a flight to Paris, I was reading ‘How to Win Friends and Influence People‘ by Dale Carnegie, in which Carnegie dedicates an entire chapter to smiles. In Blink, Malcolm Gladwell discusses how our subconscious possesses an ability to quickly recognize genuine, hearty smiles from spurious smiles — which influences first impressions. These readings about smiling triggered me to apply these ideas so I could see for myself what reactions an unsolicited smile can garner.

Even better than unaffordable Swiss chocolate — A smiling glass of beer

During my layover in Zurich, I dropped by the pharmacy and asked the pharmacist for contact lens solution. 12 bucks for a small bottle! No way I was buying…what are glasses for? Typically, I would give the pharmacist a cordial “thanks” and head out. I tried something subtly different. I told her “I’m not going to buy it, but thanks. Have a great day.” With my response, I included a jovial smile. She ever-so-naturally reciprocated the smile and joyfully wished me goodbye. Soon after, I stopped by a Swiss chocolate shop on the way to my terminal. I asked the attendant a couple of questions and looked around for a minute. My eyes landed on a chocolate molded into the shape of a medium-sized Easter bunny. 60 bucks! No way I was buying…what are Hershey’s bars for? “I’m not going to buy right now, but thank you!” I smiled. The attendant responded with a wide grin that I felt through her eyes, as if I’d just bought her entire chocolate collection! In the midst of routine days, my smile served as a refresher that actually meant something to these strangers.

I was feeling good, but the biggest validation of Carnegie and Gladwell’s ideas had yet to come.

As I waited in line during my visit to the Catacombs de Paris, I asked my friend to hold our spot in line while I searched for a place to buy water.

On the walk, I passed by a lady sitting on the sidewalk who was holding a cup for money. On the walk back, I passed her again. Despite my inhibitions about dealing with strangers as a tourist, I backtracked and felt for some change in my pocket. I gave a quick look around for pickpockets (paranoid much?), and went over to the lady. As it turned out, what may have been even bigger than the change I gave her was my wide smile that accompanied it. Her reaction left an impression. The frown cast on her face by the beaming sun turned into an emphatic smile as she blew me two kisses and exclaimed “god bless you.”

If an old lady struggling to put cents together has reason to smile wide, so must I. So must we all. That moment is what inspired this post.

When we smile, we not only do ourselves a favor, but also whoever falls in the presence of that smile. I’m glad you read this post, but remember — while everything on here sounds nice, you might only realize the full value of genuine smiles when you actually adorn them on yourself.

I leave you with my personal list of 30 things that bring a smile on my face, and that I’m grateful for. You may be able to relate to many of the items below. Make your own list and share!

  1. I visited Paris! Most spend a lifetime wanting to visit Paris.
  2. Casually reading Dale Carnegie on a flight. Not all have easy access to books and education.
  3. Casually reading Dale Carnegie on a flight. Many spend a lifetime wanting to fly.
  4. Visit to the Catacombs.
  5. Friends who hold spots in lines while you get water. Not everybody has true friends; I’m thankful for mine.
  6. Clean water. I rarely think twice about if my water’s clean-not all have that luxury.
  7. A family who loves you.
  8. A laptop that I’m now typing on. Not all can afford one.
  9. Opportunity to travel around Europe.
  10. Functioning senses — sight, smell, hearing, taste, touch, voice. Not all possess these all.
  11. A healthy body.
  12. Evening runs along the beach.
  13. Thirsty Thursday, the weekend, someone’s birthday, or any reason to celebrate. Not all can afford to be carefree.
  14. Access to a university. Many dream of studying at universities and earning degrees.
  15. Choosing one’s clothes and fashion style. Many are happy to just have clothes.
  16. Buffets meals.
  17. Chance to take a ‘selfie’ at La Sagrada Familia.
  18. Having a smartphone to make life easier.
  19. Safety. Many have lived, or are today forced to live through turmoil.
  20. Meeting people of different cultures.
  21. Seeing pretty people when out and about. Why wouldn’t you smile?
  22. The fact that I have 20 other reasons. Wow!
  23. Having a job after college.
  24. Having parents who call you embarrassing nicknames on text.
  25. Freedom.
  26. Watching the sunset.
  27. Seeing my grandma smile on facetime.
  28. Soft rock music on a late night…
  29. With a warm bed and blanket over you.
  30. The ability to make others smile.

--

--