Alongside Again

Anisha Aditya
2 min readDec 8, 2017

Presence is a pricey thing to ask for. As our hairline greyed and I couldn’t keep contact with her any longer, there were memories from the past bottled up like a fragrance. By then, there was less likelihood of any changes. She was alongside in every trivial and crucial moment, I could think of.

Alongside when I put the spaghetti and meat balls up for cooking, went to rush through the last minutes of the game, did not turn off the gas, and the dark smoke encompassed our living chambers, leaving us with cold tuna for lunch.

Alongside as I finished my jigger of bourbon on cozy autumnal evenings and spoke of worldly thoughts inspired from everyday rituals, silly recurring musings, and triumphant beliefs.

Alongside when I quit the band, dropped out from college, had a penny to nurse my fanciful dreams, became a sojourner in the hustle journey and started my first company.

Alongside as I pointed at the red star from the field of white lilies, beside the constellation that looked like a starfish, holding hands, as it began to drizzle and we were dancing in the dark.

Alongside when my childhood best friend overthrew my heart, left me emptying wineglasses, and conversations which sunk into silence.

Alongside when I ran into a rash fight with a college bully, swollen eyes and sinful words, and then I brushed her hair behind her ear, to resonate the reasons why.

Alongside when I saw the cresting wave of water, lit by the moon, rushing past and vanishing upstream, I saw young woman dancing, for once in her life, I thought I’d look back. Why did’nt I?

Alongside when I trembled, hoped, and laughed, whether I was popular, convenient, comfortable, or not.

Alongside as she’d put on fragrance which smelt of vanilla and rose, that melted into a memory, just like her smile.

Alongside when the wealth withered away, friends turned into follies, miles became more, and my sight was sorry to my face.

Alongside when the urgent trills pushed me into pulling her closer like dry grass on fire.

Alongside when I reached the airport, through the night of harsh rainfall, reality teasingly positioning our desires of saving one last word, and yet, causing another journey of a thousand miles apart.

--

--