Always Together, Forever Apart

Atteeya Sumar
The Coffeelicious
Published in
1 min readJul 5, 2016

He comes to me every so often;
with empty eyes, weary soul and confused emotions.
He comes to me having traveled in time and space;
demanding, proud, yet seeking grace.
Scaling heights, accomplishing mighty tasks;
Some which fill him with pride,
others which wrench his soul apart.
He comes to me expectant, assured of finding me
where he left me, eons ago on the edge of eternity.
I gather him close to my heart,
my empty arms for his presence starved.
He comes with claims and impositions,
in pursuit of comfort and consolation.
He has a few moments only, says my Messiah
to take pleasure from my vanquished self;
And then he has to move on where responsibilities beckon.
I have a few moments to live,
to love, to share, to give;
And after that a timelessness of waiting
till he comes to me again, succour seeking.
I am his alter ego, he is my constant shadow.
Always together, forever apart.

--

--