Photo: Ryan McGuire/Gratisography

A Mother-Daughter Story

Conversations Over Breakfast in L.A.

Lisa Shanahan
Published in
7 min readOct 27, 2016

--

My daughter, who lives in L.A. and works in the film and TV industry, is connected like a made guy. She knows all the cool places to go, all the cool places to eat, all the cool places to stay without spending wads of cash. She’s a cool, sweet kid, more interested in unearthing cool stuff than in being cool, if you know what I mean. And the kid has taste not only in highbrow stuff, but in fine lowbrow stuff.

Before my last trip to L.A. for a mother-daughter weekend, I got this text:

Isabel: You should stay at the Best Western Hollywood Hills. Check it out!

Me: A Best Western???

Isabel: It has this cool coffee shop. You’ll love!

Okay, so the Best Western Hollywood Hills a short distance from Isabel’s apartment in Las Feliz it was. A Best Western, but a cool Best Western. It was $189 a night, not cheap, but not killer expensive. And I was eager to check out its insider secret: the throw-down, Seventies throw-back coffee shop.

Loren Javier/Flickr Creative Commons

My first morning in L.A., I walked into the hotel’s 101 Coffee Shop like I was walking onto a movie…

--

--